Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Archives Free Online
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Early Americas Digital Archive
The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA is published and supported by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH).
Archive of Early American Images
The Archive of Early American Images database—images of colonial North and South America from books, manuscripts, and broadsides in the library’s collection—has nearly 7,000 images and is still growing. Images in this database are accompanied by extensive bibliographical and descriptive information and are fully searchable by keyword.
Library of American Civilization
A collection of 4,500 titles focused on all aspects of American life and literature from their beginnings to the outbreak of World War I. It includes books, pamphlets, periodicals and documents, many of which are out of print. Some are available as ebooks, and GW Libraries also own the microfiche for all titles, which is located on the 3rd floor of Gelman.
American Women (Library of Congress)
American Women is not a collection of digital items. It is a gateway--a first stop for Library of Congress researchers working in the field of American women's history.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Tools for Archival Research
Digital Archives via GW Libraries
Early American Newspapers
This database features images and full-text from newspapers across the country. While assembling the original collection, Readex focused its publishing efforts on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.
American Periodicals Series (1741-1940)
Page-images from more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers illuminating the development of American culture, politics, and society across 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, or words in the complete text.
Colonial State Papers
Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
EEBO Early English Books Online
Use the advanced search and limit the "Country of Origina" to "USA." EEBO contains over 100,000 books published in English since 1475. Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science. Update: Texts continue to be added to the online version as they are scanned from the microfilm.
Database will contain, when complete, over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents, enabling researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society.
Papers of George Washington
The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition (PGWDE) contains the entire text of the fifty-two volumes of the print edition published by the University of Virginia Press through 2005, in six series: Diaries, Revolutionary War, Colonial, Confederation, Presidential, and Retirement.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
A collection of full-text primary materials documenting various movements and events in the history of women's social reform activities. Sources include documents, images, and books, and are organized around topical document projects.