An introduction to resources in Physics & Astronomy. Includes sources of background information and properties, journal articles and technical reports, as well as sources for astronomical and physical data.
There's an immense amount of data available. The resources listed here only scratch the surface. If you are searching for a particular type of data, please contact me.
Also feel free to suggest any resources you think should be added here.
The Durham HepData Project has for more than 25 years compiled the Reactions Database containing what can be loosly described as cross sections from HEP scattering experiments.
Atomic and physical properties of the elements; atomic and molecular spectroscopy; nuclear physics data; condensed matter physics data; and more. A searchable element index combines the data from various sources.
Ground-based magnetometer data. The purpose of SuperMAG is to help scientists, teachers, students and the general public have easy access to measurements of the Earth's magnetic field.
Labyrinthine site linking to calculators (as well as handbooks, videos and other tools). Can be a little difficult to navigate. For an example, see Orbits in Strongly Curved Spacetime
The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) developed a new DOE software services platform and search tool for DOE-funded code – DOE CODE. DOE CODE provides functionality for collaboration, archiving, and discovery of scientific and business software. DOE CODE replaces OSTI’s old software center, the Energy Science and Technology Software Center (ESTSC).
IRSA is chartered to curate the calibrated science products from NASAs infrared and sub-millimeter missions, including five major large-area/all-sky surveys. IRSA data sets are cited in about 10% of astronomical refereed papers.
Database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications. The contents and services span the entire observed spectrum from gamma rays through radio frequencies.
Basic data, cross-identifications, observational measurements, and bibliography, for celestial objects outside the solar system: stars, galaxies, and nonstellar objects within our galaxy, or in external galaxies.
Through Data Release 7: Over eight years of operations (SDSS-I, 2000-2005; SDSS-II, 2005-2008), obtained deep, multi-color images covering more than a quarter of the sky and created 3-dimensional maps containing more than 930,000 galaxies and more than 120,000 quasars.
A project of the Heliospheric Science Division (HSD) at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center. SPDF consists of web-based services for survey and high resolution data and trajectories. The Facility supports data from most NASA Heliophysics missions.
Most complete library of published astronomical catalogues and data tables available on line (11576 catalogues), organized in a self-documented database.
US Naval Observatory Data Services
Rise/Set/Transit/Twilight Data, Phases of the Moon, Eclipses and Transits, and more. This site was taken down for modernization at the end of 2019. Still not working February 2021.
Data Discovery Tool Retrieve astronomical data about a given position or object in the sky. Iris: SED Analysis Tool Find, plot, and fit spectral energy distributions (SEDs) with this desktop application. Time Series Search Tool Discover time-series data from three major archives & analyze them with the NASA Exoplanet Archive periodogram application. Cross-Comparison Tool Perform fast positional cross-matches between an input table of up to 1 million sources and common astronomical source catalogs.
