Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ABI/Inform Complete Plus
A great starting place for business research, this database covers business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate provides both bibliographic and full text content covering all fields of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
For business and financial research. Provides access to: U.S. Company Data, U.S. Company Archives Data, U.S. Annual Reports, International Company Data, International Company Archives Data, International Annual Reports, Institutional Holdings Data, Insider Trading Data, FactSheets, FactSheets Express, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Global Earnings Estimates, D&B Million Dollar Database Plus, U.S. Company Data.
Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection
Covers articles published in nearly 300 accounting and tax publications, as well as official releases from the AICPA and FASB, and selected tax-related information in thousands of business journals.
Africa Development Indicators
Africa Development Indicators (ADI) is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. The ADI Data Availability Query shows where data is available for a given country, series, and year. It contains the value "1" for available data and ".." for missing data.
Online versions of Annual Review titles held in print by Himmelfarb and Gelman Libraries. Covers the biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
Banking Information Source
Covers essential banking industry publications, providing information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends.
Business Market Research Collection
Description: Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and
Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries. Coverage: 1986-current
CaPexdx: India-Life Cycle of New Investments
Tracks capacity building in India for over 50,000 projects from from 1995 to the present. Tracks the complete life cycle of projects from announcement through implementation and final closure, including abandonment of projects. Users must register and create a password.
CEIC Global Database (with China and Brazil premium data)
NOTE: Register for a CEIC account (no charge) to save searches and download data, or click guest access to search without downloading. Limit: 5 simultaneous users. Please log out when finished! Over 2.5 million item time series covering economies from the United States and China to Vietnam, Bulgaria, Chile, and Kenya. It offers a quick country reference on key indicators such as GDP, GNP, FDI, and CPI, as well as detailed, hard-to-find information on 18 macroeconomic and 14 industrial sectors.
(Formerly Local Market Audience Analyst.) Provides sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers. Off-campus users should log in through the GW VPN.
Click on the blue button Log into Claritas 360. This database is only supported in the 2 most recent versions of Google Chrome. For assistance in using the database, go to the Client Solution Center between 9:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. (Monday through Friday, ET) at 800.866.6511 or firstname.lastname@example.org
DealScan database contains comprehensive historical information on loan pricing and contracts details, terms, and conditions. It contains basically loans. However In addition to loans data, it also provides contract information for high yield bonds, private placements and hybrid financial structures. DealScan data is compiled from SEC filings and public documents (10Ks, 10Qs, 8Ks and registration statements), loan syndicators as well as other internal sources. George Washington University faculty members, students, and staff may set up free individual accounts by going to Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) at http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu
George Washington University faculty members may also set up free accounts for their classes.
Direction of Trade Statistics
Presents, for most member countries of the International Monetary Fund, current figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to their most important trading partners. Data is available from 1980 onwards for annuals/quarters and months. Area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world are presented as well. Simultaneous users: 5
Premier source for economic literature in scholarly journals (including book reviews), books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and more. Published by the American Economic Association.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Provides political, economic, and business information on countries. Generally, the best way to use the database is to select country report under My Reports and Services and then select the country from the list that is then displayed.
Full-text articles from management journals. Note that current content is not being added to this database.
Global Economic Monitor (GEM)
Global Economic Monitor (GEM) provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform.
Hoover's Company Records
Proprietary information on more than 40,000 public and non-public companies.
IMF eLibrary (International Monetary Fund)
Provides direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Free for all users.
International Financial Statistics Online
Standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Click on IMF Data on the top bar and then on International Financial Statistics which is listed under Popular Datasets. Users must create an account and log in to access data. Simultaneous users: 5
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.
Provides access to the books, journals, and statistical databases of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, providing information on member countries economics, politics, and international affairs. Publications includes data from IEA, country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Statistical data can be downloaded as Excel files.
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
Passport (formerly called Global Market Information Database) provides international market intelligence for countries, consumers and industries. Please note: All access to this database is restricted to GW students, faculty and staff who will have to login - even on campus. Walk-in use by others is not permitted.
Pharmaceutical News Index
Covers pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information from important newsletters and specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.
Regional Business News
Provides full-text coverage for over 50 regional business publications; indexing for an additional 16 titles.
Simmons Insights (formerly Simmons OneView)
Simmons Insight (formerly Simmons OneView) provides demographic, geographic, and psychographic data on consumer buying behavior, largely as it relates to brands and media. Instructional videos for how to search it can be found at Ohio University Libraries Simmons Insights Tips and Tricks LibGuide.
Please use the GW VPN to access this database. NOTE: Limited to 3 concurrent users.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Current Issues)
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as current events.
World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-Library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 4,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. See also World Bank
for additional access to free WorldBank publications. Coverage: includes all official World Bank publications back to 2000.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
Ask a Librarian