Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some online resources on Soviet dissent
Russian language databases
Current Digest of the Russian Press
The Current Digest of the Russian Press (formerly Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Post-Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
Pravda Digital Archive
A complete archive extending back to 1912 of Pravda, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Russia/the USSR. Issues are displayed as full-page images.
Full text and full image access to 250 newspapers from 55 countries. Includes most popular Russian newspapers.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
Covers scholarship in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe: books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals. Materials in English, Russian, and other languages.
Covers Russian and English publications, reports and data sets from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States.
Books by Andrei Sakharov
Available at Gelman Library or through the WRLC consortium
Sakharov Speaks by
Call Number: DK274 .S277 1974
Publication Date: 1974
Collection of Andrei Sakharov's essays, statements and appeals
Progress, Coexistence and Intellectual Freedom by
Call Number: CB427 .S2313 1968
Publication Date: 1970
Published by W.W.Norton in the United States and by AndrИ Deutsch in the United Kingdom. Written in 1968, this celebrated essay became the manifesto of the fledging human rights movement in the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe
My Country and the World by
Call Number: DK274 .S276 1975
Publication Date: 1975
A critical analysis of the Soviet Union's domestic and foreign policies, and proposals for democratic reforms
Alarm and Hope by
Call Number: JX1395 .S26513
Publication Date: 1978-12-12
Collection of Sakharov's public statements edited by Efrem Yankelevich and Edward Kline. Translated by Alfred Friendly.
Collected Scientific Works by
Call Number: QC717.8 .S2413 1982
Publication Date: 1982
Contains 24 of Sakharov's scientific papers from 1947 to 1980, plus commentary by Sakharov himself and by Western physicists
Publication Date: 1990
Written while Sakharov was in exile in Gorky, this book tells of the life of Andrei Sakharov up to his return from exile in December 1986. The Bibliography, Glossary, and Index included in the Memoirs is a useful reference tool on Sakharov and the Russian human rights movement.
Moscow and Beyond, 1986-1989 by
Call Number: DK275.S25 A313 1991
Publication Date: 1991
This book is a continuation of the Memoirs. It tells about crucial years of transformation of Soviet society.