Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S.-Japan Relations: Libraries and Archives in the US

This guide provides information on journals, dictionaries, encyclopedias, databases, and other key resources for research of U.S.-Japan Relations.

Japan Resource Center at Gelman Library

The Japan Resource Center (JRC) was established in 2005 to provide support for advanced study on Japan to The George Washington University community, especially those at the Elliot School of International Affairs as well as to researchers of Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. 

The scope of the JRC's collection includes the history, politics, economy, public policy, national security, culture, and foreign relations of Japan after the Meiji Restoration (1868), with a weight on the 20th century, in accordance with the academic focus of the Elliott School.  The collection format consists of monographs, periodicals, newspapers, references and databases.

The JRC is located on the 7th floor of the Gelman Libaray of The George Washington University Libraries. 

Libraries and Archives in U.S.

The libraries and archives lised here hold resournces on Japan and the U.S.-Japan Relations.

Collections at National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

This is a list of the major collections of NARA for research on Japan and the U.S.-Japan relations.

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu