Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Center Reference Service
U.S. Embassy / American Center Reference Service
Five reference serves stations provide information on the U.S. and the U.S.-Japan relations both in English and Japanese.
Other available sources are electronic journals and government publications. Updated regularly, this is a good site to explore.
Locations / Hours of Reference Service
U.S. Embassy / American Center Reference Service are open to the public. The five service stations are located in Sapporo, Tokyo, Nagoya, Osaka, and Fukuoka.
Check out each station's location and service hours.
Libraries and Archives in Japan
American Center Reference Service, U.S. Embassy
Provides specialized, accurate, and authoritative information about government, economy, society, and culture.
Diplomatic Record Office of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan / 外交史料館
The archives has kept, classified, and preserved records of the Foreign Ministry.
International House of Japan / 国際文化会館図書室
The collection focuses on Japanese studies in English, especially on social sciences and humanities.
National Archives of Japan Library / 国立公文書館
Preserves Japanese government's documents and records received by the Prime Minister from various government's ministries and agencies.
National Diet Library / 国立国会図書館
The only national library of Japan. It assists Diet members, the Executive and Judicial branches of the government, and the general public. It is the only depository library in Japan, acquiring all materials published in Japan. The website includes the online version of the Japanese National Bibliography Weekly List (in Japanese) and online bibliographic information of forthcoming Books on Japan (in Western Languages).
National Diet Library Digital Archive Portal （PORTA） / 国立国会図書館デジタルアーカイブポータル（PORTA）
National Diet Library Digital Archive Portal (PORTA) is a system which allows comprehensive search in digital archives in Japan. Registration (free) is required.
National Institute for Defense Studies Military Archives / 防衛研究所図書館史料室
Collects historical documents related to the Imperial Army and Navy, to conduct research on, and compile the Japan's military history.
Okinawa Prefectural Archives/沖縄県公文書館
The Okinawa Prefectural Archives (OPA) holds archives related to Okinawa, such as records of the Okinawa Prefectural Government, the Government of the Ryukyu Islands (GRI), the United States Civil Administration of the Ryukyu Islands (USCAR), and historical materials of the Ryukyuan Kingdom period, as well as visual and audio materials.
United Nations University Library / 国連大学ライブラリー
The United Nations University is an international community of scholars, engaged in research, post-graduate training and dissemination of knowledge in furtherance of the purposes and principles of the Charter of the United Nations. The library is open to the public.
Japan Center for Economic Research Library / 日本経済研究センターライブラリー
Holds a wide collection of economic statistics and literature from a variety of domestic and foreign sources.