Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Print Sources
Selected sources on bilateral economic relations available at Gelman Library.
Other Print Sources
Click here for lists of other print resources on diplomatic histoy.
To search resources on the U.S.-Japan relations, use the following subject headings:
Japan--Relations--United States (general and cultural relations)
Japan--Foreign economic relations--United States (economic relations)
Japan--Foreign relations--United States (Foreign affairs and security relations)
Some of the primary sources are accessible online. Primary sources held by the National Archives only provides the table of contents.
Digital National Security Archive
Declassified documents regarding critical U.S. foreign policy decisions organized into 24 thematic collections.
Economic Relations : Major Documents
Lists major documents on the U.S.-Japan economic relations from 1953 to present. Some documents are accessible and available in Japanese. Compiled by U.S. Embassy Tokyo.
Foreign relations of the United States
- Free E- Journals (Available from 1861)
- Free E- Journals (Available from 1861 until 1960)
*Also available at Department of State and University of Wisconsin (Already linked. Click on the title).
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) / アジア歴史資料センター
Digital database testifying to Japan's historical relations in Asia and other countries. This site provides access to official documents of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy dating from the Meiji era through 1945.
Japan's Foreign Policy
Complied by Foreign Ministry of Japan. Documents and statements of Japan's foreign policy on political, economic and other issues are searchable.
Japan-U.S. Economic Relations
Foreign Ministry of Japan complies documents and statements on the economic relations.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan-U.S. Relations / 日米関係
Ministry of Foreign Affairs site on the Japan-U.S. relations offers news articles, policy speeches, documents on security and economic relations, US polls about U.S.-Japan relations.
Modern Japan in Archives
100-Year history from the opening of the country to the San Francisco Peace Treaty. By National Diet Library.
National Security Archive: Electronic Briefing Books
Provides online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and more.
National Security Archive: U.S.-Japan Project
International cooperative project, involving leading American and Japanese scholars, on relations between the United States and Japan over the past three decades, focusing on strategic, political and economic relations.
U.S.-Japan Relations Declassified
New Web publication documents secret history of recent U.S.-Japan ties, 1977-1992.
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 175
"The World and Japan" Database Project / データベース「世界と日本」
Very informative website consisting of 4 databases, Japanese Politics and International Relations, Chronology of the 20th and 21st Centuries, Foreign Policy of Asia-Pacific Countries, Abbreviations for International Relations.
Avalon Project (Yale University)
Collects digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
Provides scholars, graduate students, politicians, journalists, policy-makers, researchers, professionals, and others a free daily forum to discuss US-Japan relations in the context of economic, security, political, and diplomatic issues.
Japan Institute of International Affairs / 日本国際問題研究所
Academically independent institution affiliated with the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, which produces and disseminates ideas on international relations. Publishes monthly journal, Kokusai Mondai (国際問題).
Japan Policy Research Institute / 日本政策研究所
To promote of understanding of Japan's political and economic behavior and growing significance in world affairs. It offers various working papers.
National Security Archive (GW)
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.