Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Resources on US-Japan Cultural Relations
Other Print Sources
Click here for lists of other print resources on diplomatic histoy.
To search resources on the U.S.-Japan relations, use the following subject headings:
Japan--Relations--United States (general and cultural relations)
Japan--Foreign relations--United States (Foreign affairs and security relations)
Some of the primary sources are accessible online. Primary sources held by the National Archives only provides the table of contents.
Cultural Relations : Major Documents
Lists major documents on the U.S.-Japan cultural relations from 1961 to present. Some documents are accessible and available in Japanese. Compiled by U.S. Embassy Tokyo.
Digital Archive of Documents on Japanese Foreign Policy / 日本外交文書デジタルアーカイブ
Compiled by the Diplomatic Record Office, Documents on Japanese Foreign Policyfrom the Meiji Period to the pre-war Showa Period are available online. Japanese only.
Digital National Security Archive
Declassified documents regarding critical U.S. foreign policy decisions organized into 24 thematic collections.
Foreign relations of the United States
- Free E- Journals (Available from 1861)
- Free E- Journals (Available from 1861 until 1960)
*Also available at Department of State and University of Wisconsin (Already linked. Click on the title).
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) / アジア歴史資料センター
Digital database testifying to Japan's historical relations in Asia and other countries. This site provides access to official documents of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy dating from the Meiji era through 1945.
Modern Japan in Archives
100-Year history from the opening of the country to the San Francisco Peace Treaty. By National Diet Library.
National Security Archive: U.S.-Japan Project
International cooperative project, involving leading American and Japanese scholars, on relations between the United States and Japan over the past three decades, focusing on strategic, political and economic relations.
The Gordon W. Prange Collection / 占領期新聞・雑誌記事情報データベース
The most comprehensive collection in the world of print publications issued in Japan during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945-1949. The Collection comprises virtually everything published on all subjects during this period - books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, news agency photographs, posters, maps and related archival materials.
U.S.-Japan Relations Declassified
New Web publication documents secret history of recent U.S.-Japan ties, 1977-1992.
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book No. 175
Japan Exchange and Teaching (JET) Programme
Aims at promoting grass-roots international exchange between Japan and other nations.
Japan’s leading public organization dedicated to international cultural exchange. It fosters greater awareness and understanding of Japan in the US and around the world through a broad range of programs for individuals and institutions encompassing arts and culture, Japanese Studies and intellectual exchange, and Japanese language education. Offers several grants.
Nikkei Denwa Seron Chosa / 日経電話世論調査
Started in 1987, Nikkei conducts monthly opinion polls on the phone. Data available on the page since 2002.
Public Opinion Polls / 世論調査
Opinion polls regularly conducted by the Cabinet Office. Japanese only.
Public Opinion Polls Index / 世論調査インデックス
Index of opinion polls. Revised twice a year (April and October). Japanese only.
U.S. Poll On Opinions Toward Japan
Opinion poll of “U.S. Image of Japan Study” complied by Ministry of Foreign Affairs. This poll is a series of opinion polls conducted almost every year since 1960 (data available from 1999).
US-Japan Future Forum
To ensure a future generation of leaders committed to US-Japan relations, the Forum will seek to mentor promising young American professionals specializing in US-Japan business endeavors who have been identified as having the potential to be future leaders of the US-Japan relationship in the private, academic, and public sectors.