Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These print biographies are available at the Japan Resource Center on the 7th floor of Gelman Library.
Electronic Japanese Biographies
Some of these electronic biographies are available only thorugh
Gelman. If you are outside of Gelman, you are requied to login to
Bibliography of Persons in Modern Japan Politics / 近現代日本政治関係人物文献目録
A hand-picked bibliographic collection of documents concerning Japanese persons active in the field of politics since the Meiji era. The database is searchable through various means including personal name and book title.
Biographical Dictionary / 人名辞典
Online dictionary to search significant historical figures in the field of culture from the 17th century to the 20th century of Japan, U.S. and Europe.
Biographical Information Search / 人物情報を探す
Provides links to numerous bibliographical information sources of people from Japan, China, Korea, Taiwan, Europe and the U.S.
Digital Japanese Biography / デジタル版 日本人名大辞典+Plus
Japan's largest online bibliography covering people in all of the fields and time. Some non-Japanese people are included.
Japan Initiative / 政治家･政策データベース
Collects biographical information of current members of the Diet and their policies.
Asahi Shimbun Onrain Kiji Detabesu
Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.
Japan Knowledge (ジャパンナレッジ)
Japan Knowledge is one of the largest collections of resources about Japan. It provides access to various reference sources including Encyclopedia Nipponica, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan (Illustrated), English-Japanese dictionaries and full text books. Simultaneous Users: 1
Electronic English Biographies
American National Biography
Offers full-text biographical articles for more than 18,300 men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the United States.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Citations to biographical entries in over 3000 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books and volumes of literary criticism, covering both contemporary and historical figures.
Gale Biography Resource
Comprehensive database of biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. BioRC is designed to provide quick and easy access to this vast array of information, thereby meeting a wide range of information needs.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) is an illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. The Oxford DNB was published in print and online in 2004. It is extended with three annual updates (each January, May and October), adding new biographies from the Romans to the 21st century. No. of concurrent users: 3