Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles at Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Citation Style Guides
Please note that citation styles for books and articles differ. You just need to get used to it.
Make Citation Easy
RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool. Is is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
Find Japanese Articles
Search Japanese articles by using the following online databases. To access GWU databases, you are required to login.
Looking for newspaper articles? Go to Japan Studies: Newspapers.
- Searchable in English
Kikanshi Net / キカンシネット
Available to browse the table of contents of journals, in-house magazines and newsletters published by public agencies.
Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei Databesu ( 雑誌記事索引集成データベース)
Consists of index data of magazines and periodicals published from the Meiji Era to the present. In addition to the full National Diet Library current periodicals index, the database includes general and local periodicals and academic journals from before World War II. The number of the articles within the database is well over 110 million.
Find English Articles
Search English articles by using the following online databases. To access GWU databases, you are required to login.
Academic Search Complete
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition , it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Full-text articles from over 130 management journals.
Google Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields. To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links and add us.
International Political Science Abstracts
Mobile version available
.Current indexing and abstracting of the world's leading journals in political science. Simultaneous users: 8
Includes back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations to the international periodical literature in political science and its complementary fields.