Guide to 20th Century China: News resources

More than 8,200 Chinese journal titles and nearly 1000 Chinese newspaper titles. Use Chinese simplified characters to search. Note: Please use IE browser.

With an archive beginning in 2000, this database collects full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers in China. GW's subscription includes the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.

The Shen Bao (申报, also spelled Shunpao) database is full-text searchable and contains PDF page images of this newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. This database, containing more than 2 million articles, works best on Internet Explorer. For off-campus access, please use GW VPN.

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different. To access, select from the complete list of Newsbank collections.

The North China Herald was a major English-language newspaper published in China from the 1850s to the 1940s. It is a major source for the history of the foreign presence in China in that period. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, and published translations of Chinese official notifications and news from across China.