Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian
George Washington University
Search this Guide
Finding Grant Makers
Social Science Funding
Help for Grantwriters
Proposal Writing Support
Help for Nonprofits
Becoming a Nonprofit
Virginia: Local & State Help
Funding for Education
Virginia: Local & State Funding
Funding for Research
Foundation Center Statistics
Upcoming Grants Workshops
Comparative Nonprofit Sector Project
Project analyzes nonprofit activity throughout the world.
The Johns Hopkins Comparative Nonprofit Sector Project created to analyzes the scope, structure, financing, and role of the private nonprofit sector. Covers 46 countries around the world.
Research information on charities and nonprofits.
Independent Sector provides information on charities, foundations, and corporate giving programs both in the US and international.
IRS information on charities and nonprofits.
IRS statistics on organizations receiving charitable contributions.
Internal Revenue Services site list of organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions.
NCC Statistics provides data on U.S. nonprofit sector.
NCCS Statistics includes information on U.S. nonprofits as well as public charities, private foundations, business leagues, trade unions, and others. The State Profiles section offers a range of tables broken out by state.
Reports on international education trends.
Institute of International Education (IIE) Open Doors site provides statistical data on U.S. study abroad as well as international students study in the U.S. * GW members - Login required
U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants: "Greenbook"
U.S. data on historical foreign aid since 1945.
Greenbook shows a complete historical record of United States' (U.S.) foreign aid to the rest of the world by reporting all loans and grants authorized by the U.S. Government for each fiscal year.
Provides access to statistics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations.
Subject areas helpful to nonprofits includes:population and income, industry and commerce.
Historical Statistics of the United States
U.S. historical data. Search under "charitable giving", "nonprofit institutions", and "nonprofit arts humanity and culture."
Contains over 37,000 statistical time series from the earliest dates of United States history to most recent available at the time of publication in 2006.
Direction of Trade Statistics (IMF)
Collected business, economic and trade information from the US Department of Commerce.
Foundation Center Statistics >>
Aug 11, 2016 11:04 AM
Login to LibApps
• 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052