Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Publications
Online publications include the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report and Emerging Infectious Diseases. Fact sheets on specific diseases available. Browse by topic A-Z here: http://www.cdc.gov/az/A.html
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
Harvard University Library, Open Collections Program
This collection contains digitized images of books, pamphlets, letters, and manuscripts from Harvard University’s libraries. Includes materials on specific epidemics or series of epidemics, including 19th century cholera epidemics, the Boston smallpox epidemic of 1721, Spanish influenza in North America 1918-1919, syphilis worldwide 1494-1923, tuberculosis in Europe and North America, and
Epidemics: Cholera in New York City
CUNY, Virtual New York City
Provides a brief history of the 1832, 1849, and 1866 cholera epidemics in New York, will images from contemporary publications.
Immigration History Research Center
University of Minnesota
An interdisciplinary research center that specializes in migration, with emphasis on immigration to the U.S. Includes a searchable database of archival collections and historical images. Also provides useful links on immigration and migration history.
Influenza 1918 from PBS The American Experience:
Online companion exhibit to the 1998 PBS American Experience film. Includes a timeline, maps, and select documents.
Influenza Digital Archive
The Center for the History of Medicine, University of Michigan Medical School
The Center for the History of Medicine’s report on seven communities that were relatively little-affected by the 1918-1919 influenza pandemic, and related documents, including contemporary newspaper articles, photographs, and reports.
National Museum of Health and Medicine
Otis Historical Archives
Materials relating to US armed forces medical history, including galleries of historical photographs and links to articles and documents
NLM Digital Collection: Cholera Online: A Modern Pandemic in Texts and Images
National Library of Medicine
This is a collection of digitized images from the NLM of English-language historical monographs and images concerning 19th century cholera epidemics around the world.
NLM History of Medicine Division
National Library of Medicine's History of Medicine Division (HMD)
The Deadly Virus: The Influenza Epidemic of 1918
US National Archives
Selected images and documents from the National Archives relating to the 1918-1919 pandemic.
The Great Pandemic: The United States in 1918-1919
US Department of Health and Human Services
Online exhibit on the 1918-1919 pandemic in the US, offering information about the pandemic in each state. Includes documents and images relating to the pandemic, including public health campaign posters, cartoons and illustrations, photographs, and newspaper articles.
The Living City: New York City
Center for the History & Ethics of Public Health
Includes annotated timeline of public health issues and events in New York City, as well as a searchable database of historical documents relating to public health in NYC.
NLM Online Exhibition: Changing the Face of Medicine
An online exhibit showing the many ways that women have influenced and enhanced the practice of medicine.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, Art Therapy
, Classics & Archaeology
, Course Guides
, Cultural Studies
, Database Guides
, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
, Historical and Retrospective
, Middle East and Africa
, Military Science
, Newspapers and News Sources
, Performing Arts
, Professional Studies
, Writing Style and Citation Guides