Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 5701: History of Epidemics: Archives and Other Libraries

Local Libraries

 

George Washington University

Library of Congress

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (formerly INS) History Office and Library

111 Massachusetts Avenue NW, 1st Floor

Washington, DC 20529

(202) 272-8370

Open to researchers by appointment only.

Howard University

DC Public Library

Includes Washington Star newspaper archives, clippings & photos; other newspaper clippings, photographs, maps, oral histories, community organizations, neighborhoods, and other materials relating to DC history.

Archival Directories

Use these links to locate materials in archives and other primary source repositories.

ArchiveGrid
A database that describes nearly one million archival collections held around the world, including the U.S. 

IndexCat: The Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office

The digital version of the Index Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office (Index-Cat) is a rich resource. Printed in five volumes between 1880 and 1961, it contains pamphlets, dissertations, and journal articles from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an independent Federal agency that preserves and oversees the management of all Federal records.  A sizable portion of NARA's holding's may be searched online in the Archival Research Catalog (ARC),  http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/.

Papers of the NAACP Special Subjects Files, 1912-1939

Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992

NACWC is the oldest national African American women's organization. Activities have included service work in public health. (Link goes to text-searchable Lexis-Nexis for a microfilm finding aid. Microfilm is located at the Library of Congress and at the NACWC national office, 1601 R Street NW, WDC 20009, 202-667-4080)

Tuskegee Institute News Clipping File     1899-1996
The Tuskegee Institute News Clippings File consists of 252 reels of press cuttings and other materials relating to African Americans compiled from more than 300 major American national dailies, leading American south-eastern dailies, African-American newspapers, magazines, religious and social publications, and international publications covering the years 1899
to 1966.

  • The guide to the TINCF is available on Blackboard, under Student Assignments
  • Microfilm available locally at Georgetown Law Library & Howard University Undergraduate Library

WorldCat
Contains records of library holdings from across the United States and around the world.   Searches may be limited by type to "archival materials."

Subject Guide

Gelman Library's picture
Gelman Library
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact:
2130 H Street NW

Washington, DC 20052

Telephone: 202-994-6048
Website
GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu