Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Online Journals
Search for specific online journals, newspapers, and magazines available through WRLC. Enter the title of periodical sought
Search these databases to find scholarly articles on your topic:
Academic Search Complete
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers (1800-1899)
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
America: History & Life (1964 - present with some entries back to 1954)
Provides the most comprehensive coverage available of articles in scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada. Gives citations and abstracts (with some links to full-text).
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1978-present)
Covers the scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities. Full indexing of 1,144 leading arts and humanities journals, and of selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Early American Newspapers (1690-1876)
This database features images and full-text from newspapers across the country. While assembling the original collection, Readex focused its publishing efforts on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820. As of May 31, 2005, 170 titles had been digitized.
Ethnic Newswatch (1990-present)
Text of U.S. newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Health Policy Reference Center
Health policy information including access and delivery, administration, financing and economics, planning, quality, reform, health services research, and public health. Provides access to journals, books, magazines, and trade publications with emphasis of full-text. Coverage: dates vary by publication; emphasis on current dates. Produced by EBSCOhost.
Comprehensive catalog of books, pamphlets, dissertations, reports, and journal articles published in the 17th-20th centuries; useful for research on the history of medicine or science. Coverage: 1400s - 1950. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
An archival database providing page-image articles from scholarly journals in a number of disciplines, including history. Article coverage is not current; it generally extends from the journal's first date of publication to 3-5 years from the present (varies by publication).
New York Times (Historical; 1851-2005)
Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Collection of first-person accounts of immigrant experiences. You can browse by subject (some specific diseases, e.g., smallpox, tuberculosis, listed.)
ProQuest Research Library Plus (varies; 1971-present; updated daily)
This multi-subject database covers general and academic periodicals. Full-text is available for many articles. Searches may be limited to "scholarly journals" only.
Washington Post (Historical; 1877-1990)
Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.
Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
The Baltimore Afro-American (Historical), a prominent, historic African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
American National Biography Online
Offers full-text biographical articles for more than 18,300 men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the United States. No. of concurrent users: 5.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Citations to biographical entries in over 3000 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books and volumes of literary criticism, covering both contemporary and historical figures.
Current Biography. New York, H.W. Wilson Co., 1940 - present
Location: GELMAN Ref CT 100 .C8 (Also at Mt. Vernon Campus Reference)
Provides lengthily entries on individuals important in a wide range of fields. A good source for information on figures in popular culture.
Dictionary of American Biography
Location: GELMAN Ref E 176 .D563
An authoritative source of information on individuals who have made significant contributions to American life in its many aspects.
Great Lives From History: American Series. Pasadena, Calif., Salem Press, 1987.
Location: GELMAN Ref CT 214 .G74 1987
Provides readable, summary accounts of the lives of 456 individuals.
Oxford Reference Online
Links to online articles on American history in reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Who Was Who in America. Chicago, Marquis-Who's Who, 1607/1896-
Location: GELMAN Ref E 176 .W64
Short, condensed entries. Coverage from 1607.
A companion volume to Who's Who in America (REF E 633 .W56).