Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice

This guide covers many of the print and online sources available for those doing research in Criminal Justice.

Primary sources on Criminal Justice at Gelman Library

Jermone Zeifman Papers

This collection contains reports, memoranda, correspondence, notes, legal documents, publications, clippings, and audio recordings collected by Jerome Zeifman in the course of his work as chief counsel to the Committee on the Judiciary of the United States House of Representatives. The collection deals primarily with issues related to the Watergate scandal, the resignation of Spiro Agnew, the impeachment of President Nixon, the confirmation of Gerald Ford to be President, the confirmation of Nelson Rockefeller to be Vice President, the efforts of Gerald Ford (as majority leader) to impeach Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglass, and prior efforts to impeach seven other federal judges. The material dates from 1960 to 1977.

Mitch Snyder Papers

Mitch Snyder (1943-1990) was a radical Catholic, advocate for the rights of homeless people, and leader of the Community for Creative Non-Violence (CCNV) in Washington, D.C. CCNV began as an anti-war group and became an advocacy group for the homeless. The largest part of the collection, Series I, 1970-1972, concerns Snyder’s prison term during which he became a radical Catholic and non-violent social activist. The collection contains a diary kept by Snyder, correspondence with his sister Roberta Peters and his mother Beatrice Snyder, and Peters’ correspondence with parole officials on his behalf.

National Law Center Records

The George Washington University Law School is the oldest law school in the District of Columbia. Materials in this collection include photographs, biographical sketches, articles, reports, yearbooks, bulletins, journals, copies of the "Advocate," scrapbooks, correspondence, and minutes from the Board of Trustees. Materials date from 1865 to 2005.

Contact Information

Special Collections Research Center
Melvin Gelman Library
2130 H St., NW, Suite 704
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7549
Hours: Monday-Friday, 10 AM - 5 PM

 

For manuscripts and collections inquiries: speccoll@gwu.edu

For University Archives inquiries:  archives@gwu.edu

Beyond Gelman Library

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu