The following resources are freely available on the websites (Disclaimer: Some of these links might not work temporarily due to the information block by the Chinese government).
Hosted by the State Information Center, a Chinese central government agency. It includes two major databases: the National Laws and Regulations Data Bank which covers Chinese laws and regulations covering from Oct. 1, 1949 to the end of 1997; and the New Laws and Regulations Online Searching. It also provides other useful information on Chinese law.
"China's official gateway to news and information" under the Chinese State Department. The website is available in Chinese, English, and other languages.
Open access declassified archives released by the State Archives Administration. Topics are various such as Sino-Japanese War, CCP history, Deng Xiaoping's personal archives and Mao Zedong's personal archives.
by Sigur Center for Asian Studies at GW featuring information related to Asian Studies at GW and also in Washington, DC., including news, information and events.
The collection documents the history of China in the post-1950 period. It is built upon the research materials collected by the Hong Kong Union Research Institute.
This collection is specialized in difficult-to-find Chinese-language publications, including statistical sources and unpublished documents. These materials complement other collections at Harvard in the field of China Studies. The library currently holds approximately 30,000 volumes, about half of which are in Chinese.
The NIDS China Security Report analyzes the strategic and military trends of China. The report is originally published in Japanese, translated into English and Chinese.
Each year CFR organizes more than one hundred on-the-record events, conference calls, and podcasts in which senior government officials, global leaders, business executives, and prominent thinkers discuss pressing international issues. CFR Presents is a portal to live video content and offers an archive of approximately 1,300 videos; 2,000 audio recordings; and 2,000 transcripts by region, topic, or series.
This website is a non-profit academic electronic resource that provides and collects news, information, Op-eds on governance and election affairs. It gives scholars worldwide the opportunity to study Chinese politics and offer reform measures.
Sponsored by the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, this site provides information on current trends in China's leadership politics and in its foreign and domestic policies, using methods of interpreting information in China's state-controlled media.
Established by the Project on Defense Alternatives, the Commonwealth Institute, Cambridge, MA, the website provides full-text online analysis and resources about Chinese military policy & capabilities. It also includes a bibliography of key readings and links to online databases and to leading area specialists and research sites.
Search for China to get information on the land, people, economy, administration, and social conditions, cultural life, and history. Additional readings from books and journals, and best web sites will expand your research. World Data tool provides country snapshots, country comparisons, and ranked statistics.
The open-access databases contains primary sources, images, oral histories, bibliography, glossary related to the contemporary China's political history during the Mao era. You need to register a free account before using the database.
Over 1.700 Chinese propaganda posters are shown on this website. The Gallery features 200 highlights, from the collections of the International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam, and Stefan R. Landsberger (University of Amsterdam, Leiden University).
