Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

China Studies: Home

This guide will provide help on locating electronic, print and digital resources related to China studies.

About the China Documentation Center (CDC)

As part of the Global Resources Center (GRC), China Documentation Center (CDC) is an international scholarly resource and a national central repository of Chinese language publications concerning the military, national security, politics, society, economy, law, and foreign relations of the People's Republic of China.

More on the CDC

Featured Databases

Cross Asia Search Engine

A one-shop place to search digital, electronic and print materials related to Asia studies, supported by National Library at Berlin. To search, type the search term in the search box (with "Suche" as background) and click the search button. The open-access database can get access to 100 million bibliographic records. 

Cross Asia Search Engine screenshot

Taiwan Academic Classics

  • (中研院)經典人文學刊庫
  • 傳記文學資料庫
  • 台灣人社百刊(Top 300)
  • 近代中國全文資料庫

 

Taiwan Academic Classics web logo

Chinese Literature and History Database

CLHD provides primary sources studies on twentieth-century China. It contains full texts of more than 20,000 volumes (650,000 articles) of publications arranged by regions and provinces. The articles are mostly first-person narratives on history, culture, politics, economy, literature and ethnicity among other themes.

Chinese Literature and History Database logo (in Chinese)

China Geo-Explorer II

China Geo Explorer is a spatial intelligence data service. It offers Chinese demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in a web-based delivery system. Data sources in this database includes demographic and business information for all PRC geographic areas, including 31 Provinces, 345 Prefecture Cities, 2,873 Counties, and over 50,000 Townships.

China Geo-Explorer II logo

China Academic Journals Full-text Database

Includes full text and/or full image articles from 2,000+ journals published in China. GW subscription covers the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.

CNKI.net logo, in English and Chinese

GW Experts in China Studies

GW’s comprehensive university-wide information repository showcases our faculty and researchers and their research, scholarship and expertise. You can search and discover more about our researchers and scholars across all disciplines. Search "China" to find GW experts with a focus on China studies.

Visit the CDC

Our location, open hours, library entrance policy, access to staff assistance, and other information.

Access to the China Documentation Center

New Databases or Databases on Trial

China Studies Resources in Gelman

Welcome to the library research guide on China studies. This guide aims to connect you with both English and Chinese resources related to China studies available at GWU. The resources are grouped together according to their formats and languages, marked by separate tabs. If you have questions about this guide, want to set up a research consultation appointment, or schedule a tour to visit the CDC, please contact Dr. Yan He at hey@gwu.edu.  

China Studies Librarian

Yan He's picture
Yan He
Contact:
Gelman Library, Suite 702G
2130 H Street, NW
Washington, DC 20052
Email: hey@gwu.edu
202-994-0624
Website

New Books

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu