Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication

This guide highlights online and print resources that may be useful for research in the field of communication.

Primary Sources on Communication at Gelman Library

Communication Department Records

The Department of Communication at The George Washington University began in 1987, and offered an undergraduate degree in radio and television communications. The collection contains brochures, memorandums, newsletters, flyers, invitations, announcements, photographs, programs, press releases, and posters. Materials range in date from 1917 to 2002 and concern the School of Media and Public Affairs (SMPA), radio programs, television programs, WTOP, WCFM, WMAL, WRC, WCFM, courses, College of General Studies, the Department of Speech and Drama, "GW Underground", WRGW history, drama productions, biographic information, forensics workshops for teachers, speech pathology, audiology, graduate studies, plans for a GW - WETA Communications Center, GW Television Station, courses airing on television, seminars, teleconferences, videoconferences, GW television station services, and High School Discussion Conferences.

Jack Morton Papers

Jack Morton (1910-2004) was an event marketing pioneer who founded Jack Morton Productions in 1939 in Washington, DC. The agency grew to become Jack Morton Worldwide, a full-service corporate communication agency, producing entertainment programs, training programs, audio-visuals, and videoconferences for a variety of corporations and trade associations. The materials cover the period from 1938 to 1993, with the bulk of these ranging in date from 1983 to 1990. The collection relates to the history of Jack Morton Productions, and to the life of its founder, Jack Morton.

Jack Anderson Papers

Jack Northman Anderson (1922-2005) established a new standard of investigative journalism for both Washington, DC and the nation at large. An impassioned crusader against the excesses of political power and bureaucratic inefficiency, Anderson proudly wore the moniker of “muckraker,” bringing the convictions of his Mormon upbringing to bear upon the capital’s elected officials. Materials contained in this collection represent the many facets of his sixty-year-plus journalistic career. The documents range from his earliest journalistic undertakings during his boyhood in Salt Lake City, to his newspaper, television and radio output, and to his later charitable causes and personal work. Currently the only portion of the collection that has been opened to the public is Series 1: Washington Merry-Go-Round Columns. See also the web exhibit for this collection.

Richard C. Hottelet Papers

This collection contains transcripts of radio and television broadcasts, personal notes, correspondence, and clippings pertaining to the work of journalist Richard C. Hottelet (1917-) from 1948-1990. Hottelet is the last living journalist from the original World War II-era group of Murrow's Boys, journalists tutored and/or encouraged by Edward R. Murrow at CBS.

Mutual Broadcast System Records

The Mutual Broadcasting System (MBS) was an American radio network, in operation from 1934 to 1999. The Mutual Broadcasting System, Inc. records contain more than 40,000 sound recordings, primarily in audiocassette and reel-to-reel audiotape format, as well as scripts and other supporting documents generated by the various shows produced by the Mutual Broadcasting System from the 1950s through the 1990s.

Arthur L. Edson Papers

Journalist Arthur Edson (-1969) was a writer for US News and World Report, and was instrumental in bringing the Associated Press into the American Newspaper Guild. He covered presidential politics for twenty-four years and did may feature stories for the AP. This collection consists of teletype printouts, correspondence, note pads, interview transcripts, rough notes, and more. They range in date from 1950 to 1968.

Samuel Shaffer Papers

Samuel Shaffer (1910- ) was a reporter for Newsweek magazine, and served as Chief Congressional Correspondent from 1947 to 1975. This collection consists primarily of Shaffer's Newsweek files and typescripts of his book, On and Off the Floor: Thirty Years as a Correspondent on Capitol Hill (1980).

Frederick Kuh Papers

Journalist Frederick Robert Kuh (1895-1978) was best known for his coverage of World War II. He worked for Chicago newspapers throughout his career, serving as London correspondent for the Chicago Sun from 1942 to 1947 and as London and then Washington correspondent of the Chicago Sun-Times from 1947 until 1963. The collection contains correspondence, articles, scrapbooks of Kuh’s articles, speeches, diaries, writings both published and unpublished, and address and telephone books. Materials date from 1924 to 1967.

Washington Blade Lou Chibbaro Senior Reporter Files

This collection contains the reporter records for Lou Chibbaro, writer for The Washington Blade. Chibbaro covered many beats for the Blade including federal agencies, elections, the Supreme Court, Congress and the White House. His reporting has focused on gay civil rights, and gay rights legislation. He has also written about crime and criminal trials involving anti-gay violence and hate crimes. The materials date from 1980 to 2000 with the bulk in the 1990s.

Beyond Gelman Library

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information about their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids.

The National Press Club Archives

"The National Press Club Archives collects, preserves, describes, exhibits and makes available to researchers materials related to the history and activities of the National Press Club and the history of journalism, specifically in the Washington DC area."

 

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu