Skip to main content

Sociology

This guide highlights both print and online sources useful for research in sociology.

Primary Sources on Sociology at Gelman Library

Lester Frank Ward Papers

Lester Frank Ward (1841-1913) has been described by some as the father of American sociology. His contributions to sociology are almost forgotten today, but at one time he was considered to be one of America's leading intellectuals. The collection consists of diaries, correspondence, photographs, a scrapbook, and sixty-nine articles written by Lester Frank Ward. The materials range in date from 1883 to 1919.

Donald Ray Papers

Donald Ray received his Master of Arts degree in 1947 from The George Washington University, and served as Director of the National Institute of Social and Behavioral Sciences. The collection includes correspondence, reports, articles, pamphlets and books. The materials range in date from 1938 to 1992.

Contact Information

Special Collections Research Center
Melvin Gelman Library
2130 H St., NW, Suite 704
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7549
Hours: Monday-Friday, 10 AM - 5 PM

 

For manuscripts and collections inquiries: speccoll@gwu.edu

For University Archives inquiries:  archives@gwu.edu

Beyond Gelman Library

Check out ArchiveGrid, a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information about their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids.

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu