Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Museum Studies

This guide highlights print and online sources useful for research in museum studies.

Primary Sources on Museum Studies at GW Libraries

Museum Studies Department Records

The Museum Studies department of The George Washington University, was founded in 1976 by a committee of University professors consisting of Dr. Humphery from Anthropology, Dr. MacDonald from Art History, and Dr. Mergen from American Studies. The University was one of the first graduate schools to establish a museum studies based program. Materials in this collection include departmental history, sample exams, reports, course proposals, conferences, meeting minutes, syllabi, National Park Service Workshops, and Taiwan Project. They range in dates from 1976 to 2002.

James Goode Papers

James Moore Goode (1939-2019) was the author of numerous books relating to Washington, D.C. history, and earned his Ph.D. from The George Washington University in 1995.

Contact Information

Special Collections Research Center
Melvin Gelman Library
2130 H St., NW, Suite 704
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7549

Beyond Gelman

Smithsonian Institution Museum Studies and Reference Library

This includes more than 28,000 books, over 280 periodical titles and multi-media material in the areas of museum operations, museum organization, administration and management, and programs. 

Smithsonian Institution Archives

"The Smithsonian Institution Archives collects, preserves and makes available the official records of the Institution and special collections documenting Smithsonian staff, artifacts, benefactors, events, exhibits, structures and research."

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information about their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids.

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu