Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Japanese Newspaper Databases
You can search English-language articles in Japanese newspapers! The Japanese newspaper databases listed below are all available through the Gelman Library website. Log-in is required for access outside of Gelman.
"How to search Japanese English-language Newspaper Databases"
More Japanese newspaper databases are available. Searchable in Japanese only.
News Periodicals Online
Nikkei Asian Review
English-language business journal, especially focused on finance, economic and political issues in Asia
Newsweek - Japan Edition
provides translated articles of 'Newsweek International' and the original articles of 'Newsweek Japan'
a Hong Kong / Thailand-based online newspaper, covering political and economic issues from an Asian perspective
covers Asian markets, business, entrepreneurship, and finance
The Economist - Asia
provides sources for the analysis of Asian business and current affairs
International News Databases
Please log-in is required for access outside of Gelman Library
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 2,500 U.S., Canadian and international newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
- How to search for English-language articles in Japanese newspapers (1) Type 'Japan' in 'Browse Source', and choose non-Japanese newspapers. (2) "English' should be chosen for 'Language' (3) Type keywords in "Free Text Search" (e.g. activis* (for 'activism' 'activist' & 'activision')
- Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Current and archival content from over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series.
Historical US Newspaper Databases
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search all historical newspapers from ProQuest: The Atlantic Constitution (1868-1984), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1993), Korea Times (1956-2016), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), The New York Times (1851-2013), The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2002), and The Washington Post (1877-2000).
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- Coverage: 1851-2015
- Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1992) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Washington Post (Historical,1877-1999) This link opens in a new window
Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.
To see more historical databases, go to the Historical Newspaper Databases page.