Research Guides: Art: Find Reference Sources

Reference Titles

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The complete text of The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with ongoing additions of new material and updates.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism This link opens in a new window
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism brings together a wealth of interdisciplinary content about the Modernist period, and is the ideal starting point for any research in modernism. With over 1,000 articles from experts in the field, supported by over 100 images, Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism is a vital tool for students and researchers. The content is fully cross-referenced, allowing for greater discoverability between fields, and covers eight key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Researchers can browse by subject, movement, or place in order to discover connections between key topics and fields.

The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
Publication Date: 2008
This reference work provides fascinating historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.

Corpus of Rembrandt Paintings
Six volume reference work of all Rembrandt's paintings, by the Rembrandt Research Project.
Art History Dissertations and Abstracts from North American Institutions
Browse titles and abstracts of 6,000 dissertations from over 80 institutions, published since 1980.
Dictionary of Art Historians
A biographical database of historic historians of western art history. A free, scholarly resource for scholars, students, and publics. Continually updated.