Research Guides: English + Literature + Print History and Culture: Poetry

Primary Sources

Poetry (Online). Chicago, Ill: Poetry Foundation, 1912.
Poetry magazine has been in continuous publication for more than 100 years, making it the oldest monthly magazine devoted to verse in the English language.
Coverage: 1912-2018
DC Poetry
The site promotes several reading series and also documents the history of alternative, avant-garde, experimental, innovative or non-mainstream poetry activity in D.C.
Library of Congress poetry page
Includes links to the Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature. A source that now contains recordings of over 2,000 poets reading their own work.

more... less...

The page has a link to the Poet and the Poem, an ongoing series of live poetry interviews at the Library of Congress with distinguished artists. Distinguishing features of the show are the poets’ discussions with host Grace Cavalieri about their craft and sources of inspiration
American Verse Project
The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project assembled an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

MLA International Bibliography
Covers journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage of rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Simultaneous users: 7
Project Muse
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Covers the scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities. Full indexing of 1,144 leading arts and humanities journals, and of selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.