Research Guides: English + Literature + Print History and Culture: Early Modern

Texts

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
EEBO contains over 100,000 books published in English since 1475. Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science.
EEBO TCP (Text Creation Partnership) This link opens in a new window
Contains some searchable and readable editions of Early English Books .
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) This link opens in a new window
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) indexes English or English-language letterpress materials published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473-1800, including Pollard and Redgrave (1473-1640), Wing (1640-1700), Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, and Evans' Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800). Materials indexed in ESTC may be available in Early English Books Online or Literature Online, or in the microform STC collection on Gelman's third floor.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

DEEP: Database of Early English Playbooks
Database of every playbook produced in England, Scotland, and Ireland from the beginning of printing through 1660--information about the original playbooks, their title-pages, paratextual matter, advertising features, and bibliographic background.
Folger Digital Image Collection
Over 21,000 images from the Folger Shakespeare Library collection, including books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, art, and more.

The Routledge Anthology of Renaissance Drama by Simon Barker (Editor); Hilary Hinds (Editor)
ISBN: 9780203446584
Publication Date: 2003-09-02

Early Modern Manuscripts Online
A project of the Folger Shakespeare Library, Early Modern Manuscripts Online (EMMO), provides scholars and the general public with convenient web access to transcriptions, images, and metadata for manuscripts from the sixteenth seventeenth centuries.
Sources of Early Modern Emotion in English, 1500-1700
Sources of Early Modern Emotion in English, 1500-1700 (SEMEE) is a living, collaborative project designed to aid researchers working on emotion and affect in the English Renaissance. It contains editable bibliographies of primary sources related to the study of emotion, as well as a bibliography of secondary scholarship on early modern emotion.
Early English Broadside Ballad Archive (EBBA)
EBBA has made broadside ballads from many different holdings easily and fully accessible: gathered together on one site as ballad sheet facsimiles, facsimile transcriptions, text transcriptions, and recordings, and extensively catalogued. All ballads can be viewed via a basic search (using the magnifying glass at the top right of the window) and robust advanced search functions.
Map of Early Modern London
Comprised of four distinct, interoperable projects: a digital edition of the 1561 Agas woodcut map of London; an Encyclopedia and Descriptive Gazetteer of London people, places, topics, and terms; a Library of marked-up texts rich in London toponyms; and a versioned edition of John Stow’s Survey of London.

Shakespeare

Shakespeare Globe on Screen 1 & 2 (Drama Online) This link opens in a new window
This portal provides access to Shakespeare Globe on Screen (2008 - 2015) and Shakespeare Globe on Screen 2 (2016 - 2018). The two collections altogether feature over 20 films recorded live on the Globe stage with leading actors. Plays include "Twelfth Night," "Merchant of Venice," "Macbeth," "Romeo and Juliet," "Othello," "Measure for Measure," and others.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online - Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of
Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts
themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship.
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations to books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. Includes international and non-English-language materials.

Global Shakespeares
A collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.
Shakespeare Performance in Asia
An extensive collection of videos of Asian Shakespeare performances for scholars, students, and any one interested in Shakespeare or Asian cultures. Here you will also find interactive maps and timelines, interviews, biographies of directors and actors, for understanding intercultural Shakespeare.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
Scholarly editions of full Shakespeare texts online, complete with annotations, some in quarto, folio, and modern versions. Includes performance materials from over 1000 film & stage productions of Shakespeare.
Folger Digital Image Collection
Over 21,000 images from the Folger Shakespeare Library collection, including books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, art, and more.