Research Guides: Web Archives: Web Archiving at GW

Background

The Web Archives Program at the George Washington University was initiated in 2014 with the purpose of capturing websites of relevance to the University, and the library’s Specialized Collections.

Purpose

Serve as the official repository for GW websites.
Capture continuously changing web content created by GW’s departments, offices, and organizations.
Capture websites related to collections held by the GW LAI’s Special Collections.
Make archived web content available to be used as primary sources for reference, research, and historical purposes.

What get's included in the GW Web Archives?

Curated By Subject Experts

Lists of URLs (seeds) are maintained by subject experts.
Crawled on a scheduled basis (monthly, quarterly, bi-annual, yearly).

By Request

Any GW community member may submit a web archives request.
Helps inform subject experts of new websites, new content, and changes.
Request Form for Archiving GW-Affiliated Website

Purchased (historical backfill)

We’ve acquired small amounts of historical data that was crawled by Internet Archive before our web archives program was initiated.

GW Web Archives - Contact

Want to learn more? Need assistance?

GW Libraries and Academic Innovation’s digital services unit is responsible for the GW Web Archives program. Please contact Dalton Alves for assistance using GW Web Archives or to learn more about the program.

Quck Links: GW Web Archives

Collecting Areas (subcollections)

George Washington University
Websites produced by or affiliated with the George Washington University, documenting the administration, publications, policies, events, and announcements of the university community.
Corcoran Gallery of Art and Corcoran College of Art + Design
Websites describing the degree programs, resources, admissions, and administration and faculty of the Corcoran College of Art + Design prior to its merger with George Washington University in 2014. Also includes the website of Corcoran Gallery of Art prior to its closing in 2014.
Washingtoniana
Websites complimenting GW Libraries' Washington, D.C.-related collections. Topics covered include the arts (with a focus on poetry), culture, and politics.
National Education Association (NEA)
Websites created by or affiliated with the National Education Association (NEA), including those related to NEA membership and leadership, press releases, publications, and caucuses, as well as websites related to education advocacy.
International Brotherhood of Teamsters
Website of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters labor union, featuring Teamsters Magazine, press releases and articles, videos, and organizational and member information.
Global Resources Center Web Archive
Websites chronicling both English and foreign-language publications, blogs, organizations, and movements originating outside the United States.

Web Archives: Web Archiving at GW