Personal Digital Preservation: Resources and Recommend Readings

Have you asked yourself how to archive all the content you have published in social websites and message services? The How to Archive It Project compiles manuals and instructions on how to preserve profiles on social media and messaging services.

Social media content can take many forms including text, images, videos and more. There are several options when it comes to saving that content on your local device or through other services.

The Memory Lab provides equipment for personal archiving of documents, home movies and photographs. Formats accepted include digital carriers like CD/DVDs and 3.5" Floppy.

A resource to help people preserve their digital content, researched and informed by archival best practices.

Resources from the Library of Congress related to personal digital archiving. Topics include preservation of digital photographs, audio, video, electronic mail, personal digital records, and websites.

A virtual webinar hosted by Cassandra Tavukciyan, a Digital Collections Management Specialist at the Canadian Museum of History. Cassandra gives an introduction to the importance of archival preservation, digital collection management, and caring for digital material, as well as tips and tricks on how you can managing your collections and records, digitally.

A free-to-access and open resource for digital preservation advocacy, the DPC's Global Bit List of Endangered Digital Species (or Bit List for short) is a community-sourced list of at-risk digital materials which is revised every two years. Entries to the list are nominated by the community, who are at the forefront of digital preservation efforts, and reviewed by international organizations which represent global expertise in the preservation of the listed digital species.

Recommended Formats Statement identifies hierarchies of the physical and technical characteristics of creative formats, both analog and digital, which will best meet the needs of all concerned, maximizing the chances for survival and continued accessibility of creative content well into the future.

A zine, published by Maintenance Culture, that provides preservation guidance for artists who create digital, or "born-digital" artwork.

Webrecorder provides a suite of open source tools and packages to capture interactive websites and replay them at a later time as accurately as possible.

Wayback Machine, a service provided by the Internet Archive, allows users to save individual webpages via their "Save Page Now" feature.

The GW Web Archives program collects websites affiliated with the University. This includes student organizations.