“Murasaki Shikibu Gazing at the Moon,” a scroll by Mitsuoki Tosa (New York Times)
These classical Japanese literature dictionaries provide information necessary to analyze texts. The dictionaries include both English and Japanese entries.
Biographical dictionary of Japanese literature by 
The Princeton Companion to Classical Japanese Literature by 
新潮日本文学辞典, Shinchō Nihon bungaku jiten [Shincho Japanese Literature Dictionary] by 
日本古典文学大事典, Nihon koten bungaku daijiten [Dictionary of Japanese classical literature] by 
日本古典文学大辞典, Nihon koten bungaku daijiten [Dictionary of Japanese Classical Literature] by 
枕詞辞典 [Dictionary of pillow words] by Looking for classical literature texts? Need to know where to find them? Searching for more information about texts? These bibliographies will provide information for students and researchers searching for classical materials. All of the sites here are open access and published in Japanese or English.
The below databases provide a wealth of materials for scholarly research both in Japanese and English. They include a blend of open access and subscriber databases, as well as general academic databases and more narrowly tailored literature databases.
For a comprehensive list of GW-subscribed and open-access journal, please visit the "Find Articles" section of the Japan Studies research guide.
The burgeoning field of digital humanities offers us new ways to experience, study, and analyze Japanese classical literature. These exciting new projects take on such texts as the "Tale of Genji" and provide open-access texts and data.
These foundational anthologies of Japanese classical literature are common course textbooks and reference materials. All are available here at the GW Libraries.
Traditional Japanese literature : an anthology, beginnings to 1600 by 
Traditional Japanese poetry : an anthology by 
Classical Japanese prose : an anthology by 
The Cambridge history of Japanese literature by 