Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Sciences Databases
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
Major reference title incorporating definitions, key concepts, theories, and research on historical and contemporary topics. Primarily US and Western Europe.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (1951-current)
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd Edition)
26-volume second edition with 3,900+ chapters providing broad, deep interdisciplinary knowledge and comprising all areas of the social and behavioral sciences.
Online version of the Population Index periodical. Covers international research on demographic topics.
ProQuest Social Science Database
Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
(Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical.) ProQuest Statistical Insight provides access to statistics on a wide variety of topics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental and international organizations.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Part of the Web of Science covers scholarly literature across the social sciences, with citations culled from a vast array of journals. Also allows cited reference searching (i.e., searching for articles that have cited a given author or work). Simultaneous users: 5
Covers the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences. Included are citations to journal articles and book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Many records for articles from major journals added since 2001 also include lists of works cited.
This collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) and Sociology database to cover the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals.
UNCTADstat is a free database of statistics produced by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). It incorporates all of UNCTAD's online statistical databases, including both current and historical data. Topics covered include population and labor forces; economic trends; foreign direct investment; commodity prices; and many more.