Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International news, newspapers, magazines and journals
Access World News Research Collection
The database provides access to over 528 million current and archived articles from thousands of global and U.S. news sources, most only available through this resources. Each source provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded. Search interface includes a world map.
Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine
Includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union and the Baltics, both in Russian and in English.
Current Digest of the Russian Press
The Current Digest of the Russian Press (formerly Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Post-Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (1941-1996)
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.
JPRS (Joint Publications Research Service) Reports
The Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) was a translation and publishing service created in the U.S. Commerce Department's Office of Technical Services in 1957 to provide government agencies with translations of unclassified foreign source documents, including scientific and technical reports, scholarly journals, trade and commercial statistics, defense reports, and more. Succeeded by World News Connection in 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.
Mideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
New York Times (Historical)
Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.
Access to Russian newspapers, military periodicals, and parliamentary publications.
Wall Street Journal (Historical, 1889-2002)
Searchable full-text archive of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 2002.
Washington Post (Historical,1877-1999)
Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.
World News Connection (1995-2013)
Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.
Articles + GW + Consortium catalog search