Skip to main content

HIST 3601.10 (Spring 2020) Empires and Legacies Northeast Asia: Russia, China, Japan: Home

Japan Studies Research Guide

Visit the Japan Studies Research Guide to find out more about databases, newspapers, statistics, think tanks etc.

First Sino-Japanese War / Chino-Japanese War (1894-1895)

Books/Articles Resources on 1st Sino-Japanese War

Open-Access E-Resources for the first Sino-Japanese War

Russo-Japanese War (1904-1905)

Open-Access E-resources for Russo-Japanese War

Second Sino-Japanese War (1937-1945)

Open-Access E-Resources for Second Sino-Japanese War

Useful Databases

ProQuest Central logo

ProQuest Central

Multidisciplinary database covering both scholarly sources and popular content. Includes the contents of ProQuest Research Library, ABI-Inform, and U.S. and International Newsstreams, as well as various ProQuest disciplinary collections.

New York Times historical database

New York Times (Historical)

Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.

Washington Post logo

Washington Post (Historical,1877-1999)

Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue—cover to cover—in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.

ProQuest historical newspapers logo

Historical Newspapers

Search all historical newspapers from ProQuest: The Atlantic Constitution (1868-1984), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1993), Korea Times (1956-2016), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), The New York Times (1851-2013), The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and The Washington Post (1877-2000).

Japan Times Archives logo

Japan Times Digital Archive

Japan's largest and oldest English-language daily newspaper. Searchable full-image archive of this English-language newspaper published in Japan from its inception in 1897 through 2018.

Search Keywords for firsthand accounts

Keyword search tip

Questions? Please email me (Mitsuyo Sato) @ satom@gwu.edu.

              

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu