George Washington University
Admin Sign In 

Public Policy  Tags: public_policy policy public_affairs government_policy  

This guide lists some major general resources to assist researchers in public policy.
Last update: Aug 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/pubpolicy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  

Reference Books

The following print encyclopedias are useful for general information on public policy. They can be found in Gelman's reference section on the first floor:

  • Encyclopedia of American Public Policy  
    REF JK468 .P64 J33 1999
    Overviews of important concepts and developments in 13 major areas
  • Handbook of Public Policy  
    REF H97.H3582 2006
    General handbook which discusses theories, general approaches, and specific issues
  • International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration  
    REF H97 .I574 1998
    Comprehensive, all-in-one compendium "of the concepts practices, issues, and theories that inform and define contemporary public policy-making"
  • Public Policy Dictionary  
    REF H97 .K78 1987
    Glossary of public policy terminology organized by general subject matter
 

Overviews and Background Information on Specific Issues

The following databases are useful for general topic exploration and will help you find information on specific public policy issues:

  • Congressional Research Service Reports  
    Studies prepared by the Library of Congress Congressional Research Service, Congress' "think tank"
  • CQ Public Affairs Collection  
    Omnibus repository of public policy information in 22 subject areas. Includes CQ Researcher, which contains background information on topical public policy issues
  • National Journal Policy Central  
    Discussion and analysis of the full range of policy issues by "the leading source of nonpartisan reporting on the current political environment and emerging policy trends"
  • PolicyFile  
    Unique database tapping into so-called grey and fugitive literature (not easily found elsewhere) such as reports, policy papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies

Think Tanks

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDavid Ettinger
Contact Info:
Gelman Library
202-994-1355
Send Email

Subjects:
International Relations, Political Science, Public Policy

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait