TRDA 4595W Paris: Modernism and the Arts, Then and Now: Home
This course offers a multi-disciplinary view of the aesthetic movements that changed the course of art and thought in Europe and elsewhere during the first half of the 20th century.
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.
Related Subjects
Here are links to other research guides that may be helpful - some of the content is replicated in this guide, but these will give you more detail about a specific field and point you to further resources for that discipline.
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Contains information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Includes citations ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to ones accepted as recently as last semester. Of over 1.5 million titles listed, Proquest offers over a million in full text. For these titles, the citation includes the Proquest order number.
Google Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields. To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links and add us.
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.
Art & Architecture Source includes full text for over 600 journals and 230 books, and includes a collection of over 63,000 images. It supersedes Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective. There is strong international coverage.
Covers the scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities. Full indexing of 1,144 leading arts and humanities journals, and of selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Covers journal articles on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Citations from scholarly and popular sources from the U.S. and abroad, including professional associations, regional periodicals, and major international journals. Also included are citations to professional obituaries (often the only available sources of biographical information for less-published architects).
Bibliography of the History of Art covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from over 4,000 periodicals. Published from 1975-2007, this database is succeeded by the International Bibliography of Art which covers records from 2008 to the present.
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art. Now published by ProQuest, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). It includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-9 as part of BHA, with ProQuest adding 25,000 new records yearly to maintain unbroken coverage. Subjects include fine art in all media; archaeology; museum studies and conservation; and more.
A comprehensive multicultural and interdisciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. Indexes over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text provided from over 100 of the journals indexed and for more than 100 of the books.
Covers journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage of rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Simultaneous users: 7
