This is a guide to some major resources related to Middle East Studies available online or through the Gelman Library.
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2011
The following two multi-disciplinary databases are good starting points for current information.
Click on the "Find Articles, News and Analysis" tab to locate discipline-specific databases.
- ProQuest Research Library Plus
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.
- Academic Search Complete
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition , it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
General reference sources on the Middle East can be found in the Global Resources Center, Gelman 708, or the Reference section on the first floor.
- The Contemporary Middle East: A Documentary History
REF DS42 .F44 2008
- Continuum Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East
REF DS62.8 .P64 2002
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa 2nd ed.
REF DS43 .E53 2004
- The Essential Middle East
Global Resources Center Reference DS43 .H57 2003
- The New A-Z of The Middle East
Global Resources Center Reference DS43 .6742 2004
- The Middle East 9th ed.
REF DS63.1 .M484 2000
- The Middle East and South Asia
REF DS44 .C55 43rd ed. 2010
- Political Chronology of the Middle East
REF DS63.18 .P67 2001
- Guide to Middle East Resources in the Nation's Capital
REF DS 41 .G84 2004
Please indicate whether you are an undergrad, a grad student, or faculty member in your comments. Thanks!