Research Guides: History: World: Getting Started

Find Scholarly Articles

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, representing scholarship from thousand of journals from over 90 countries.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities, including many history publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including history, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, economics, literature, and sociology.

Check the "Find Articles" page to the left for additional relevant databases.

GW Libraries Search

Search for Books

Find Background Information

Encyclopedia of World History New York : Facts On File, c2000
Location: D21 .E577 2000

Dictionary of Contemporary World History New York: Oxford University Press, 2016
Provides information about political, diplomatic, and military people and events in the history of the world from 1900 through the early twenty-first century.

Dictionary of World History [Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2006, c2007
Online. Contains over 4,700 entries covering 4,000 years of history and historical figures.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History 5v. Great Barrington, Mass., U.S.A. : Berkshire Pub. Group, c2005
Location: REF D28 B45 2005 2nd Floor
"A comprehensive encyclopedia of world history with 538 articles that trace the development of human history. "

Oxford Reference Online
Online. The home of Oxford’s reference publishing, brings together over 2 million entries into a single cross-searchable resource.

Check the "Find Background Information" page to the left for additional resources.