Print Sources
These books are available at Gelman Library, under the call numbers provided. For help in locating books by their call numbers, watch this movie.
Historical Dictionary and World Bibliographical Series
Use the ALADIN Catalog to find the call number for the country of interest by doing an Advanced Search with the phrase "Historical Dictionary of" or "World Bibliographical Series" as the first search term and the name of the country as the second search term.
International Government Information and Country Information: A Subject Guide
REF ZA5050 .M67 2004
Chapters organized by subject. Includes thousands of online resources.
Getting Started
These websites provide general sources for country information:
Economist Intelligence Unit
Provides online access to worldwide country-specific political-economic and business information
Europa World Plus
Online version of the Europa World Yearbook and Regional Surveys, containing detailed essays about countries.
Background Notes
This site, maintained by the State Department, includes sections on a country's people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, etc.
CIA World Factbook
Each country's entry includes snapshot facts and figures on geography,
people, government, economy, transportation, the military, and
transnational Issues.
Library of Congress: Country Studies
Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Nations Online
Country profiles
Subject Guide |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Links: Profile & Guides |
Author of this research guide: |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
