Research Guides: Data & Statistics Research Guide: International

International Data & Statistics: Starting Points

These are a few suggestions for starting your search for international data and statistics. For more resources, see the appropriate guides above.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the books, journals, and statistical databases of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, providing information on member countries economics, politics, and international affairs. Publications includes data from IEA, country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Statistical data can be downloaded as Excel files.
Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive offers annual data for a range of countries from 1815 to the present, organized in the form of an Excel spreadsheet. The data includes over 200 years of annual data with 196 economic, social and political variables for over 200 countries.

EU Open Data Portal
A single point of access for European Union data. Data are provided solely by EU institutions, agencies and bodies.
UN Data
UN Data contains data from a variety of themes and resources collected into one searchable database.
UNESCO Statistics
Provides internationally comparable statistics on education, science, culture and communication. It contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication from over 200 countries.

CEIC Global Database (with China and Brazil premium data) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Register for a CEIC account (no charge) to save searches and download data, or click guest access to search without downloading. Limit: 5 simultaneous users. Please log out when finished! Over 2.5 million item time series covering economies from the United States and China to Vietnam, Bulgaria, Chile, and Kenya. It offers a quick country reference on key indicators such as GDP, GNP, FDI, and CPI, as well as detailed, hard-to-find information on 18 macroeconomic and 14 industrial sectors.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).