How to get a LOC Reader's Card
Readers Cards are required in order to research at the Library of Congress. They are easy to obtain-- just bring your GWID and a current State ID to prove that you are over 18y.o.
Local Performances
The Going Out Gurus of the Washington Post can help you find live music performances in DC...

Loading RSS Feed...
Music Collections and Research Centers
The following libraries in the Washington, DC area contain significant music collections:
- Catholic University Music Library The library has subscriptions to over 100 music periodicals, as well as scores, audio materials, and videos. Use the ALADIN Catalog to verify that they have what you are looking for.
- University of Maryland, Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library This library, in College Park, MD, collects manuscripts, sound recordings, letters, programs, scrapbooks, and other archival and primary source materials that deal with Music and the Performin
- University of the District of Columbia, Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives Includes commercial and radio recordings.
- Library of Congress Performing Arts Reading Room As well as the and the Recorded Sound Reference Center. Includes music, theater, and dance. Check the web site for all particulars. Note: A Library of Congress Reader's Card is required to use the Reading Room.
- American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress The oldest repository of manuscripts, photographs, and sound and video recordings of traditional culture, founded in 1928. Requires a Library of Congress Reader's Card.
- The Smithsonian Three collections at the Smithsonian include The Duke Ellington Collection, National Museum of American History Archives and America's Jazz Heritage Project
Performing Arts Centers
DC serves as the home for several music organizations, including:
- John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts Bastion of classical arts and home of the National Symphony Orchestra, right down the street from GW.
- HR-57 Center for the Preservation of Jazz & Blues Named for the Congressional resolution proclaiming Jazz to be "a rare and valuable national American treasure," this local,non-profit music center seeks to provide educational experiences about Jazz and Bl
Librarian |
Tina PlottelOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Gelman Library
Reference Office
202/994-2294
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, UW 20
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Gelman Library
Reference Office
202/994-2294
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, UW 20
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait