Audio Databases in ALADIN
The following databases in ALADIN allow you to stream music files:
- American Song includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, African, blues, gospel, and shape note singing
- Classical Music Library
- Contemporary World Music
- Smithsonian Global Sound
- Jazz Music Library
Best Places to Start
- Oxford Music Online Includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.
- Librarians' Index to the Internet: Music A publicly-funded, librarian-produced index of useful websites related to Music Research.
- Music Theory Online: A Journal of Criticism, Commentary, Research and Scholarship MTO is the refereed, electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory. The website provides full text access to this publication from 1993 to the present.
- Themefinder
Themefinder provides search access to a database containing short melodies and musical snippets.
Librarian |
Tina PlottelOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Gelman Library
Reference Office
202/994-2294
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, UW 20
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Gelman Library
Reference Office
202/994-2294
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, UW 20
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait