Contact Information
Melvin Gelman Library
2130 H St., NW, Suite 704
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7549
Hours: Monday-Friday, 10 AM - 5 PM
For manuscripts and collections inquiries: speccoll@gwu.edu
For University Archives inquiries: archives@gwu.edu
Primary Sources FAQ
How do I find resources in the Special Collections Research Center?
- Check the Aladin Catalog for your topic (if it's here the location will be Special Collections).
- Check out our website with links to primary materials for various subjects.
- Or better yet, make an appointment and speak with a librarian in Special Collections at (202) 994-7459 or speccoll@gwu.edu
Why should I use primary sources?
- Challenging: You become the scholar!
- Rewarding: Original documents often evoke a sense of time and place.
- Impressive: Professors will love you!
Primary Sources on Music at Gelman Library
- Kip Lornell and Charles Stephenson Washington Go-Go Collection, 1978-2002 The materials document the evolution of go-go and the cultural and political role of go-go in Washington, D.C.
- Music Department Sheet Music Collection, 1827-1900 Collection contains bound volumes of sheet music. These twelve items cover the years 1827-1900. The music includes piano and guitar pieces as well as music in French, Italian, English, and Spanish.
- Music Department Records, 1898-2004 Collection includes programs, photographs, scrapbooks, correspondence, posters, meeting minutes, by-laws.
- Gay Men's Chorus of Washington, DC Records, 1981-2003 This collection contains receipts, financial records, marketing material, recordings, photographs, meeting minutes, fundraising records, and production records that document the work of the Gay Men's Chorus of Washington DC.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid is a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information abou their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids.
Librarian |
Tina PlottelOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Gelman Library
Reference Office
202/994-2294
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, UW 20
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Gelman Library
Reference Office
202/994-2294
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, UW 20
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait