Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University
Admin Sign In 

Educational Administration  Tags: educational_administration educational_leadership higher_education education_policy  

A guide for GSEHD graduate students in K-12 and Higher Education administration & policy studies programs.
Last update: Sep 25th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/edleadership  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Research & Other Articles             Print Page
  
 

Find Empirical Studies

When searching the databases listed to the right, always limit to peer-reviewed journals to access authoritative sources. Depending on your topic, you may also want to include qualifiers such as:

  • Empirical study
  • Case study
  • Qualitative OR quantitative
  • Research OR study OR methodology

If you're not sure how to do this, please contact me!

 

The Chronicle

Chronicle of Higher Education

Chronicle News Blog (below)


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Multi-disciplinary / Retrospective Databases

Web of Science Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)

  • The most comprehensive database in ALADIN, covering all social science disciplines
  • Great for interdisciplinary research
  • Includes search feature for finding newer works that cite an older work ("Cited Ref Search")
  • Ideal for discovering seminal articles or books and for finding related works

JSTOR

  • Full-text electronic archive of older scholarly journal content in multiple disciplines, including education (issues published in the last 3-5 years are excluded)

PAIS International

  • Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues
  • Coverage since 1915

Sociological Abstracts

  • Covers international literature in sociology and related social sciences
  • Great resource for literature searches on social and equity issues

Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI)

  • Historical coverage of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences
  • Includes journals in business/management, education, sociology and general social sciences
  • Retrospective coverage goes back to 1665 for some journals

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective

  • Citations to articles in important scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities and social sciences
  • Covers 1907-1984

Dissertations & Theses Online

  • Includes citations, abstracts and full-text, when available, of dissertations from students in North American and European schools (since 1861, when the first U.S. dissertation was accepted)

 

      
     

    Education Librarian @ VCL

    Profile ImageLisa Allen


    Online Chat / Networks:

    Contact Info:
    703-726-3778
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Education, Counseling, Psychology

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait