Quick Links
- GWU Department of History
- The National Archives: ResearchAccess to the Research homepage for the National Archives and Records Service.
Comments (0)
Find Background Material
- Oxford Reference Online - HistoryLinks to online articles on American history in reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Find Biographical Information
- American National Biography OnlineOffers full-text biographical articles for more than 18,300 men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the United States.
Find Articles
- America: History & Life with Full TextAmerica: History & Life with Full Text offers extensive coverage of scholarly articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
- Academic Search CompleteThis academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition , it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Find Books
Search for Books in the ALADIN Catalog
Find Primary Materials
- CQ Historic DocumentsOffers full-text documents, including presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions. 1972-present.
- Washington Post (Historical,1877-1990)Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue?cover to cover?in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.
- 19th Century U.S. NewspapersProvides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
- ProQuest Congressional(Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.) A comprehensive source of Congressional information including bills, hearings, testimonies, and legislative histories. Provides a massive number of historical Congressional publications, including the U.S. Serial Set 1789-2010 and House & Senate Documents 1817-present.
- Specialized Collections at Gelman LibraryLinks to primary source collections available at Gelman Library. Collecting areas include Washingtoniana, African-Americana, Judaica and Hebraica, and Media and Journalism.
Guide Author |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
