This is the "Newspapers and News Source Databases" page of the "Databases: Newspapers and News Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases: Newspapers and News Sources  

Last Updated: May 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/newspapersdatabases Print Guide RSS Updates

Newspapers and News Source Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Newspapers and News Source Databases

  • 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
    Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
  • Access World News
    Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 700 international sources. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
  • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (Readex)
    Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. The collection features papers from more than 35 states and was in part created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the U.S.
  • African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Accessible Archives)
    This database provides full-text access to articles from a number of historic African American newspapers, beginning in 1827 with Freedom's Journal. The collection contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and offers first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.
  • Asahi Shimbun Onrain Kiji Detabesu
    Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.
  • Baltimore Afro-American (Historical, 1893-1988)
    The Baltimore Afro-American (Historical), a prominent, historic African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
  • Chicago Defender (Historical)
    The Historical Chicago Defender, an influential, historical African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue, 1910-1975.
  • Chicago Tribune (Historical)
    The Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1987) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The Collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every issue through 1986.
  • Current Digest of the Russian Press
    The Current Digest of the Russian Press (formerly Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Post-Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
  • Early American Newspapers
    This database features images and full-text from newspapers across the country. While assembling the original collection, Readex focused its publishing efforts on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Text of U.S. newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
  • Factiva
    Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
  • FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (1974-1996)
    The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.
  • Financial Times (FT.com)
    Must use GWU VPN for off-campus access. FT.com will require you to set up an account with your gwu.edu email address. Contains articles from this leading British business newspaper back eight years.
  • Historical Newspapers
    Search all historical newspapers from ProQuest: The Baltimore African-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), The New York Times (1851-2007), and The Washington Post (1877-1994).
  • Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries
    Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes.
  • Lily, The: A Temperance and Abolitionist Newspaper
    Provides full-text articles from "The Lily, A ladies' journal devoted to temperance and literature," issued from 1849 until 1853. The newspaper began as a temperance journal, but gradually began to include articles about other subjects of interest to women, many from the pen of social activist Elizabeth Cady Stanton (pseudonym: "sunflower").
  • Los Angeles Times (Historical)
    The Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • MidEast Wire  
      
    Mideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
  • MultiData Online
    MultiData Online provides full text access and bibliographic citations for selected newspapers and periodicals from the Arab world in Arabic, English, and French.
  • National Journal Central
    A collection of resources on US politics and policy, including The National Journal, The Hotline, The National Journal Daily (formerly CongressDaily), The Almanac of American Politics, Daybook and more.
  • New York Times (Historical)
    Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
  • New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (Historical)
    The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • North China Herald
    The North China Herald was a major English-language newspaper published in China from the 1850s to the 1940s. It is a major source for the history of the foreign presence in China in that period. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, and published translations of Chinese official notifications and news from across China.
  • Pravda Digital Archive
    A complete archive extending back to 1912 of Pravda, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Russia/the USSR. Issues are displayed as full-page images.
  • Shen Bao (申報)
    The Shen Bao (申報, also spelled Shunpao) database is full-text searchable and contains PDF page images of this newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. This database, containing more than 2 million articles, works best on Internet Explorer.
  • Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
    The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War. "The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985" makes 200 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th and 20th century history.
  • TV News Archive (Vanderbilt)
    Catalog of materials in the Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University, which contains network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks (ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN), as well as special news-related programming (including ABC?s Nightline). Streaming online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999. VHS copies of other broadcasts are available for loan, for a fee.
  • Udndata-United Daily News (聯合知識庫-聯合報)
  • Wall Street Journal
    The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as current events.
  • Washington Post (Historical,1877-1997)
    Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.
  • World News Connection
    The World News Connection database has been discontinued by the producer. Researchers are encouraged to use the database, International Newsstand for the information formally covered by this database. The content of this database has been archived and is available through World News Connection (1995-2013)
  • World News Connection (1995-2013)
    Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx.1944-1996.
  • Xinwen Zhishiku (Newspapers in Taiwan) 新聞知識庫
    This database includes parts of full-text from the United Daily News Group (covering United Daily News, United Evening News, Economic Daily News, and Min Sheng Daily) and news clips from the following other newspapers including China Times, Commercial Times, Star News, Liberty Times, Central Daily News, and Apple Daily. Searchable using Chinese characters or Pinyin.

Related Research Guides

 

Ask a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558refdesk@gwu.edu
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip