- 1990 Long Form in 2000 Boundaries
This database allows users to access US Census data from 1990 and compare it with the 2000 Census data. It is based upon the Long Form questions and includes detailed demographic data about topics such as population, household structure, income, poverty, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. Simultaneous users: 5
- Academic Search Complete
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition , it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
- Africa Development Indicators
Africa Development Indicators (ADI) is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. The ADI Data Availability Query shows where data is available for a given country, series, and year. It contains the value "1" for available data and ".." for missing data.
- Annual Reviews
Online versions of Annual Review titles held in print by Himmelfarb and Gelman Libraries. Covers the biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
- Anthropology Plus
International coverage of the fields of anthropology and archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Brings together the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) from the UK.
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. A complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003. Seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist.
- Black Studies Center
A multi-faceted resource that includes: The Chicago Defender, 1909-1975, an influential historical African American newspaper; International Index to Black Periodicals, coverage from 1902 onward; Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience-- Topical overviews by leading Black Studies scholars; Dissertations-- Full-text dissertations
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
Major reference title incorporating definitions, key concepts, theories, and research on historical and contemporary topics. Primarily US and Western Europe.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Text of U.S. newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Gender Studies Database
Mobile version available
.Gender-related scholarship inside and outside academia, combining Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies and relevant contributions from the Child Development and Adolescent Studies and Family and Society Studies Worldwide databases. Simultaneous users: 5
Available through Engineering Village. GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
- Global Economic Monitor (GEM)
Global Economic Monitor (GEM) provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform.
- Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
HAPI is a multi-subject index to periodical literature on Latin America and on Hispanics in the United States.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
- ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource includes both publicly available and non-publicly available datasets on public policy and social science research. Users must create an account and log in to access data.
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database (NCJRS)
Covers reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.
- Neighborhood Change Database
This database provides access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 at the census tract level. It contains Long Form data with details such as: population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. It serves as a resource for those seeking to analyze changes that have occurred in US neighborhoods over four decades. NOTE: This database requires Internet Explorer. Simultaneous users: 5
- Neighborhood Change Database 2010
Provides access to U.S. Census data at the tract level from 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 normalized to the 2010 tract boundaries as well as 2010 SF1 and ACS data sets. You can do time series analysis covering 5 decades of data all in a common boundary set. NOTE: This database requires Internet Explorer. Simultaneous users: 5
- OECD iLibrary
Provides access to the books, journals, and statistical databases of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, providing information on member countries? economics, politics, and international affairs. Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Statistical data can be downloaded as Excel files. Note: Includes IEA data and reports that GW does not subscribe to.
- PAIS International
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
- Polling the Nations
Data from public opinion polls and surveys conducted in the US and abroad. Simultaneous Users: 4
- Population Index
Online version of the Population Index periodical. Covers international research on demographic topics.
- Project Muse
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- ProQuest Research Library Plus
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.
- PsycINFO 1887-Current
Mobile version available
. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, business, law and more. Journal coverage, spanning from 1887 to present, includes international material.
- Reference Universe
Searches the indexes and article titles in subject encyclopedias and other reference sources in a variety of disciplines.
- Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,304 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts
Covers the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences. Included are citations to journal articles and book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Many records for articles from major journals added since 2001 also include lists of works cited.
- Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
- Web of Science
Includes the Science Citation Expanded Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search by a specific index, or across all three. Citations to articles in more than 8,000 major research journals. Also permits cited reference searching (searching for articles that cite a particular author or work).
- World Development Indicators (WDI)
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).