- CQ Electronic Library
Contains the following resources: Voting and Elections Collection, with data and analyses of elections and election returns, voter demographics, political parties, campaign finance and the role of the media; CQ Researcher Online, with balanced analysis of major issues of political import. A good source of bibliographies on current topics; and CQ Historic Documents.
- CQ Historic Documents
Presently contains 32 annual volumes of primary sources, each volume with approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the year. Documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions, to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
- CQ Moneyline
Formerly PoliticalMoneyLine, CQ MoneyLine contains data from the past 25 years on money in politics. Users can: * Track contributions from PACs, individual donors and politicians to elected officials, candidates and party committees. * Find out which industry sectors raise and distribute the most, and where the dollars are going. * Follow the flow of soft money through 527 groups. * Retrieve information on thousands of lobbyists, indexed by client and issue. Simultaneous Users: 30
- CQ Political Reference Suite
Provides information on historical and current issues in American politics and government, including: Political Handbook of the World; Washington Information Directory; Guides to Congress, the U.S. Supreme Court, the Presidency, U.S. Elections and Political Campaigns; Historic Documents (1973-2007); Vital Statistics on American Politics; and Supreme Court Yearbook.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher Online features original, comprehensive reporting and balanced analysis on issues of major issues of political import. CQ Researcher is a particularly good source of bibliographies on current topics.
- CQ Vital Statistics on American Politics Online
Covers a wide range of topics in American politics, such as elections, Congress, the presidency, the judiciary, the media, campaign finances, policy, and a variety of issues related to state and local government. Includes rankings of public officials' reputations, content analyses of media coverage, and public opinion data about policy issues. Sources of material include reference volumes, government publications, political science journals, monographs, and press releases.
- CQ Voting and Elections
CQ Voting and Elections Collection integrates data, analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide research material on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
- CQ.com on Congress
Provides extensive coverage of the activities of both Houses of Congress, including Committees. Includes daily articles and reports analyzing Congressional activity, as well as member profiles, the text of bills, schedules and agendas, committee reports and testimony, and more. Simultaneous users: 30 (across all CQ.com products)
Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
- GPO Access
HeinOnline consists of four major library collections that are image based and fully searchable: the Law Journal Library, Federal Register Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, and U.S. Supreme Court Library. There are also minor libraries like Legal Classics that includes historic legal treatises or the U.S. Attorney General Opinions collection.
- History of Afghanistan
The Siraj al-tawarikh is the most important history of Afghanistan ever written. The roots of much of the fabric of Afghanistan's society today - tribe and state relations, the rule of law, gender issues, and the economy - are elegantly and minutely detailed in this immense work.
- History of Afghanistan Online
The Sirāj al-tawārīkh is the most important history of Afghanistan ever written. It was commissioned as an official national history by the Afghan prince, later amir, Habib Allah Khan (reigned 1901-1919). The author, Fayz Muhammad Khan, better known as “Katib” (The Writer), was a scribe at the royal court. For more than twenty years, he had full access to government archives and oral sources and thus presents an unparalleled picture of the country from its founding in 1747 until the end of the nineteenth century. The roots of much of the fabric of Afghanistan’s society today—tribe and state relations, the rule of law, gender issues, and the economy—are elegantly and minutely detailed in this immense work.
- ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource includes both publicly available and non-publicly available datasets on public policy and social science research. Users must create an account and log in to access data.
- International Political Science Abstracts
Mobile version available
.Current indexing and abstracting of the world's leading journals in political science. Simultaneous users: 8
- iPoll (Roper Center)
Archive of US nationwide public opinion data including downloadable datasets. Users must create an account and log in to download raw data.
- JFK's Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
This collection provides insights into President Kennedy's views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. There are documents on the Bay of Pigs and Cuba, Berlin, American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and Latin American relations, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, and much more.
- Leadership Directories: Who's Who in the Leadership of the United States
Leadership Directories provides contact information for the leaders of major United States government, business, professional, and nonprofit organizations.
- LexisNexis Academic
Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.
- Military & Government Collection
Mobile version available
. Providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database covers about 400 titles, with the full text of nearly 300 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets. Includes CountryWatch's Country Review.
- National Journal Central
A collection of resources on US politics and policy, including The National Journal, The Hotline, The National Journal Daily (formerly CongressDaily), The Almanac of American Politics, Daybook and more.
- PAIS International
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
Public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers.
- Polling the Nations
Data from public opinion polls and surveys conducted in the US and abroad. Simultaneous Users: 4
- Presidential Recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson: Digital Edition
The online edition of The Presidential Recordings includes hundreds of hours of presidential tapes covering the major issues of the LBJ administration, from the War on Poverty to the Civil Rights Movement to the Vietnam War. Each conversation is fully transcribed and annotated, and accompanied by its audio file.
- ProQuest Congressional
(Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.) A comprehensive source of Congressional information including bills, hearings, testimonies, and legislative histories.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight
Federal legislative history service providing full-text digital access to Congressional publications created during the legislative process leading up to the enactment of a U.S. Public Law.
- World Bank Data Catalog (includes Public Sector Debt Statistics)
Apps for mobile devices.
The Public Sector Debt Statistics (PSD) database, jointly developed by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, brings together detailed quarterly public sector debt data of selected countries, initially mainly developing /emerging market economies. The database facilitates timely dissemination in standard formats of public sector debt data, to support macroeconomic analysis and cross-country comparison.
- World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-Library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 4,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. See also http://www.worldbank.org
for additional access to free WorldBank publications. Coverage: includes all official World Bank publications back to 2000.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations to the international periodical literature in political science and its complementary fields.