- Academic Search Complete
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition , it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
This database is a collection of periodicals which covers African American history, societal and cultural issues over a period of one hundred and seventy years.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
- ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
Access to databases containing the full-text of a broad range of significant books, texts, bibliographies and other works supporting the study of French language and literature.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Covers the scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities. Full indexing of 1,144 leading arts and humanities journals, and of selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- Black Studies Center
A multi-faceted resource that includes: The Chiciago Defender, 1909-1975, an influential historical African American newspaper; International Index to Black Periodicals, coverage from 1902 onward; Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience-- Topical overviews by leading Black Studies scholars; Dissertations-- Full-text dissertations
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Cambridge Collections Online includes over 300 titles, updated regularly, with emphasis on literature, classics, religion, philosophy, and cultural studies.
- Duke University Press Journals
A collection of nearly 40 online journals provided by Duke University Press, primarily in the arts and humanities.
Ebrary offers full-text searching and online access to academic books in business & economics, computers/technology/engineering, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social & behavioral sciences. The collection also includes over 1050 maps.
- EEBO Early English Books Online
EEBO contains over 100,000 books published in English since 1475. Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science. Update: Texts continue to be added to the online version as they are scanned from the microfilm.
- EEBO TCP (Text Creation Partnership)
Contains some searchable and readable editions of Early English Books (texts published in English since 1475). Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science. For more non-searchable full text of Early English Books, see EEBO.
- Empire Online
Database will contain, when complete, over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents, enabling researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Section I (now available) examines cultural contacts throughout five centuries of Empire, from Columbus to decolonization. It draws upon sources such as diaries and eyewitness accounts of European travelers, correspondence and periodical literature.
- English Short Title Catalogue
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) indexes English or English-language letterpress materials published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473-1800, including Pollard and Redgrave (1473-1640), Wing (1640-1700), Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, and Evans' Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800). Materials indexed in ESTC may be available in Early English Books Online or Literature Online, or in the microform STC collection on Gelman's third floor.
- Gale Literature Resource Center
Draws from major publications such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography, as well as articles from journals and entries from the Encyclopedia of Literature. Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Simultaneous users: 4
- Gender Studies Database
Mobile version available
.Gender-related scholarship inside and outside academia, combining Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies and relevant contributions from the Child Development and Adolescent Studies and Family and Society Studies Worldwide databases. Simultaneous users: 5
- HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly: 1857-1877)
Searchable page images from Harper's Weekly magazine for 1857-1877, the Civil War era through Reconstruction.
- Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
HAPI is a multi-subject index to periodical literature on Latin America and on Hispanics in the United States.
- Index Translationum
The Index Translationum, begun in 1932, is an international bibliography of book translations.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
- LION LIterature Online
Over 350,000 literary texts along with full-text journals, author biographies, and other critical and reference resources. Includes Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, an index of articles in literary studies. Simultaneous users: 4.
- MLA International Bibliography
Mobile version available
.Covers journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage of rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Simultaneous users: 7
- Oxford English Dictionary
Access to the definitive dictionary of the English language. Revisions and additions ongoing.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Historical (not current) coverage of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, going back to Volume 1 for most titles (in some cases, over 200 years). Full-text articles are available from several hundred titles.
- Project Muse
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972, the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present. Includes digital versions of Greek texts, searchable in Greek, with links to English translations where available.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography
Citations to books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. Includes international and non-English-language materials.