Last Updated: Apr 10, 2013
URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/chemistrydatabases
Print Guide
- AccessScience
Access Science: online access to the authoritative McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- American Chemical Society Web Editions
GW subscribes to MOST of the titles on this site, but not all.
- ASM Handbooks Online
This resource contains the full-text of 24 of ASM's most popular handbooks.
- Cambridge Structural Database
To install additional software used by this database, see Chris Cahill in the Chemistry Dept. The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a repository of experimentally determined crystal structures of a range of materials and is maintained by the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre. Criteria for inclusion require that the compound is small molecule and contains at least one C-C bond. Thus inorganic AND organic materials are represented. CSD does NOT include protein structures.
- CiNii (サイニィ)
Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, CiNii (pronounced like "sigh-knee"), enables searching of information on academic articles published in academic journals, university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Access to full text documents is possible with 3.2 million of the 12 million articles currently available.
- Crystallography Journals Online
Our subscription includes access Acta Crystallographica Sections A-F: A: Foundations of Crystallography B: Structural Science C: Crystal Structure Communications D: Biological Crystallography E: Structure Reports Online F: Structural Biology and Crystallization Communications
- Electrochemical Society Digital Library
The Electrochemical Society (ECS) Digital Library provides full-text articles from the Journal of the Electrochemical Society and other ECS journals.
- Engineering Village 2
Covers articles and papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. The Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) produces and maintains the database.
- Fieser and Fiesers Reagents for Organic Synthesis
This resource features an A to Z listing of all reagents cited in synthetic literature with concise descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. All information about a particular reagent is collected in one single article. Entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more.
- Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
This resource presents articles on chemical substances?including their properties, manufacturing, and uses, industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, and fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
- Merck Index
A structure-searchable encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Online Journals
Access to journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry
- Science Citation Index Expanded
Part of the Web of Science covers scholarly literature across the sciences, with citations culled from a vast array of journals. Also allows cited reference searching (i.e., searching for articles that have cited a given author or work).
- SciFinder Scholar
Provides access to the following databases: Chemical Abstracts--Chemical literature (journals, patents, books, etc.; 1907 ? present); Registry File--Chemical compound information (structure, molecular weight, spectral information, etc.); Medline--Medical literature (journals, books, conferences, etc.; 1958 - present); CASREACT--Information on chemical reactions (1985 - present); CHEMCATS--Chemical sources (i.e., supplier information); CHEMLIST--Regulatory information (1979 ? present).
- Toxline
TOXLINE is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database for toxicology. It provides bibliographic information on the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Most citations include abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers. TOXLINE references are drawn from various sources organized into component subfiles which are searched together but which may be used to limit searches as well.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.