Access Science: online access to the authoritative McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database consisting of citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, technical reports and other sources pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.
- Aquatic Science Collection
ProQuest Aquatic Science Collection provides indexing, citations and full text articles from over 300 leading aquatic journals from around the world. Includes Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (also linked separately).
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Coverage of journals, books, reports, proceedings, translations, and grey literature related to the science, technology and management of marine and freshwater resources.
- Biological Abstracts 1969-present
Mobile version available
. Covers scholarly journals in the life sciences, from both the U.S. and abroad. Simultaneous users: 10
- Biological Science Collection
The ProQuest Biological Science Collection offers indexing, citations and full text articles from over 600 leading journals on biology, biomedicine and related subjects.
Access to scholarly journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. A joint project by SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), and other partners.
- Cambridge Structural Database
To install additional software used by this database, see Chris Cahill in the Chemistry Dept. The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a repository of experimentally determined crystal structures of a range of materials and is maintained by the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre. Criteria for inclusion require that the compound is small molecule and contains at least one C-C bond. Thus inorganic AND organic materials are represented. CSD does NOT include protein structures.
- CiNii (サイニィ)
Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, CiNii (pronounced like "sigh-knee"), enables searching of information on academic articles published in academic journals, university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Access to full text documents is possible with 3.2 million of the 12 million articles currently available.
- Fieser and Fiesers Reagents for Organic Synthesis
This resource features an A to Z listing of all reagents cited in synthetic literature with concise descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. All information about a particular reagent is collected in one single article. Entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more.
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
- MEDLINE (Ebsco)
Mobile version available
. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The premier source for journal literature worldwide in all fields of biomedicine. Contains citations from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, the biological and physical sciences, the humanities, and information science, as they relate to medicine and health care.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The premier source for journal literature worldwide in all fields of biomedicine. Contains citations from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, the biological and physical sciences, the humanities, and information science, as they relate to medicine and health care. Over 4,600 journals are indexed.
- Merck Index
A structure-searchable encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- Nature Online
An international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology. Also provides news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public. Note: Not all journals on this site are part of GW's subscription.
- Oceanic Abstracts
Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. It has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. Provides comprehensive coverage of topics including marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
- Plant Science
Contains citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.
- Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS)
A multi-disciplinary scientific journal.
- PsycINFO 1887-Current
Mobile version available
. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, business, law and more. Journal coverage, spanning from 1887 to present, includes international material.
Public access version of the Medline database. Includes life and health sciences articles including clinical, basic sciences, and public health information. Incorporates Himmelfarb Library's customized search filters for EBM/Clinical Reviews, EBM/Clinical Trials, and Reviews. Includes links to related genetic, chemical and taxonomic information. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Science Citation Index Expanded
Part of the Web of Science covers scholarly literature across the sciences, with citations culled from a vast array of journals. Also allows cited reference searching (i.e., searching for articles that have cited a given author or work).
- Science Online
Access to articles from Science Magazine and Science NOW! Other links at this site may require separate subscriptions.
- SpringerLink Ebooks
A collection of full-text monographs covering Math and Statistics, Professional and Applied Computing, Energy, Computer Science, and Biomedical and Life Sciences. Users can browse individual titles or search across the entire collection.
- Biosis Citation Index
Indexes over 5,300 high quality journals and serials back to 1926, as well as providing indexing for selected relevant patents, conference proceedings and books.
- Data Citation Index
Data Citation Index indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets.
- Zoological Record
Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1864, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. Covers over 5,000 serials, plus many other sources of information including books, reports, and meetings.