Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
George Washington University
Admin Sign In 

Public Administration  Tags: public_administration government local_government budget civil_service public_finance government_spending  

This guide is intended to assist those doing research in the field of public administration.
Last update: Jul 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gwu.edu/pubadmin  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Statistics             Print Page
  

Sources for Statistics

.
  • LexisNexis Statistical  
    Location: ALADIN
    LexisNexis Statistical provides access to statistics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations. Tables of data are provided. For the years covered, it includes American Statistics Index and Index to International Statistics, and some of Statistical Reference Index (see below).
  • Federal, State, and Local Governments. 1992 -  
    Location: http://www.census.gov/govs/www/index.html
    This contains a plethora of statistical and other information on U.S. federal state and local governments from the U.S. Census Bureau.
  • Census of Governments. Quiquennial. 1957 - 1992.  
    Location: JS 3; also available on the website listed immediately above.
    Includes data on U.S. federal, state, and local governments
  • Almanac of the 50 States: Basic Data Profiles with Comparative Tables. Annual. 1985, 1990, 1992-.  
    Location: Reference HA 203 .A5 (earlier years in fifth floor stacks).
    In addition to the states, the District of Columbia is covered and a national summary is included.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States. Annual. 1879-.  
    Location: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab. Also in Reference HA 202 (latest edition in Ready Reference and in Reference; earlier editions in the fifth floor stacks).
    This is a good first place to look for U.S. statistical information. A subject index leads to tables with footnotes indicating the sources of the tables. Published by the U.S. Bureau of the Census.
  • County and City Data Book. 1949 - 1967, 1972, 1977, 1988, 1994, 2000.  
    Location: Reference HA 202 .A36. (latest edition in ready reference and in reference stacks; earlier editions in fifth floor stacks).
    Supplements Statistical Abstract for cities and counties.
  • State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. Triennial. 1979, 1982, 1986, 1991 - 1998, 2006  
    Location: http://www.census.gov/compendia/smadb and Reference HA 205 .S72 (latest edition in ready reference and in reference stacks; earlier editions in fifth floor stacks).
    Supplements Statistical Abstract for states and standard metropolitan statistical areas
  • Location: http://www.census.gov/compendia/smadb and Reference HA 205 .S72 (latest edition in ready reference and in reference stacks; earlier editions in fifth floor stacks).  
    Location: ALADIN and REF HA 202 .H57 2006
  • American Statistics Index. Monthly. 1974-.  
    Location: Reference Z 7554 .U5 A46
    Indexes and abstracts of U.S. government statistical publications. Annual cumulations. Indexing is by subject and name, category (age, race, geographic area, etc.), and title. The library owns a number of the publications indexed on microfiche (1974-2004) as well as on paper. Some are also available electronically. For assistance in locating them, ask at the reference desk.
  • Index to International Statistics  
    Location: REF HA 17 .I535
    Indexes and abstracts publications of various international bodies (e.g. the European Union) containing a substantial amount of statistics. The library own much of the materials indexed on microfiche (1983- ) as well as on paper. Some are also available electronically. For assistance, ask at the Reference Desk
  • Statistical Reference Index.  
    Location: Reference HA 202 .S7. 1980-1992.
    Similar to American Statistics Index for non-federal government statistical publications, governmental and non-governmental. Cumulated annually.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait