Teaching with Primary Sources
The National Archives
This section contains reproducible copies of primary documents from the holdings of the National Archives of the United States, teaching activities correlated to the National History Standards and National Standards for Civics and Government, and cross-curricular connections.
Library of Congress
Teaching with Primary Sources Program
This program works with an educational consortium of schools, universities, libraries, and foundations to help teachers use the Library’s collection of digitized primary sources to enrich their classroom instruction.
The Smithsonian Institution
Resource for teaching American History, search engine for primary sources.
Primary Sources on Education at Gelman Library
Walter Tobriner Papers, 1949-1968
This collection contains correspondence, greeting cards, index cards, newspaper clippings, speeches, statements, publications, and various types of memorabilia. Most of these records represent the period in which Tobriner served on the Board of Education and Board of Commissioners.
Harriet B. Hubbard Papers, 1958-1978
Harriet Hubbard served as chairman of the Education Committee, gave testimony and advised the DC Board of Education regarding the reorganization of DC's public education, in light of the consequences of the District of Columbia Self-Government and Government Reorganization Act in 1973, as well as the 1974 contract negotiations between the teachers union and the School Board. The material of this collection consists of one box, organized into three series, including Education; Children's rights, and Environment, ranging in date from 1958-78.
Contact Information
Special Collections Research Center
Melvin Gelman Library
2130 H St., NW, Suite 704
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7549
Hours: Monday-Friday, 10 AM - 5 PM
For manuscripts and collections inquiries: speccoll@gwu.edu
For University Archives inquiries: archives@gwu.edu
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid is a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information about their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait